We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Yes ... Casino with Reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel Operations: Clean, large rooms, and ask for the lake view for beautiful accommodations. Our second experience at this property confirms that the hotel operations is most worthy of reliable accommodations for the area and I highly recommend it. The restaurant comes with mixed reviews but having gone to approx. 2 dozen+ casinos in the midwest, this property's restaurant is par for the course as far as casino buffets. The food is entirely acceptable for "casino food" but the view you get of the lake gives this restaurant the edge many similar casino restaurants. The food "likeability" is entirely subjective but I found that if I didn't like one fod selection there were plenty of other options, including can't go wrong, soup and salad bar.

Judging the property by its hospitality accommodations, it is first rate and highly recommended. Unfortunately, similar to our last visit last year, the casino just doesn't crack up to the first rate accommodations. There's not a lot of atmosphere and even though I have been in worse casinos by far, there are just too many "dead spots" in this casino where there is no slot activity and the tables generate no excitement. Slots generating no usage should be replaced and employees working the area should look a little more enthusiastic.

Clearly this is a property which continues to show the same management issues. Above average hotel accommodations, acceptable restauarant operations and below average casino gaming experience. There's no reason why the casino can't elevate its operations given more aggressive floor imagination to match the rest of the property!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms should be requested! Beautiful view with private porch in all rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank packerfan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend, and we also stayed here a few years ago on Christmas Eve. The rooms are very nice and so spotless. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The casino has great machines. The only downside is the restaurant, the food is not good. I will be staying here again next summer for at least four nights. We give it an A+.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank menanni12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here twice on a recent journey throughout the upper peninsula. Both of our stays the rooms were great, clean, well maintained & beautiful views. Would stay here again when we cross the bridge!

Room Tip: Bay side rooms have a waterfront view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fyre926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We expected less. Rooms were nice size, staff pleasant, casino fairly generous, many incentives were fun and generous as well. We would stay here again no problem. One easy incentive was fifteen dollars of gasoline.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheKs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband, in laws, and I decided to stay at Kewadin Shores on our way to Mackinac Island for a little gambling entertainment. Upon arrival we checked in without incident and went to our rooms. We had a good stay. My only complaints would be the deadbolt got stuck on my in laws room and and our room although non-smoking smelled like an ashtray. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning was refreshing. Bathrooms big and no shower temperature issues. I do agree the beds are hard, but I actually really liked them and they were not lumpy.
We did go to the casino and my assessment is they need more than 1 soda machine! It was constantly out of ice and people were always waiting in line.
We also went to the buffet restaurant on site because my in laws had player club coupons. We did not and thought $15 per person for the Dinner buffet was a joke. Your soda is not included...which is dumb when you can get it in the casino for free and most buffets include this with your meal anyway. We drank water and just filled up on pop afterwards. The food in the buffet was not very good. The fish was dried out and the food was pretty bland. I would probably just skip it and go into town next time or eat before arriving!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suzies29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We decided to get away for the day, and headed up to St. Ignace. The casino is small, but nice, with newer games. The drinks are very reasonably priced, especially compared to Soaring Eagle in MT. Pleasant. We ate at the buffet and it was OK, nothing great, but a good price for what you got. Now on to the nights stay, make sure you drink at least a couple of the cheap beers before you head to the sack. I think they forgot the mattress and just put a pad on the box springs. It was hard as a rock, and the pillows were just as bad! We mentioned this problem to them, and they said they were changing out the bedding on that side (parking lot) of the hotel and the other side was much better. So if you go there to spend the night, ask for a room facing the lake.

Room Tip: Stay on the lake side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed one night after a long day visiting the falls. The hotel was nice, the casino was nice in size and clean. Had the breaskfast buffet, not much different than going to a restaruant buffet at a local joint. We bought the breakfast along with our hotel and got the free money. Which i won $137.00 on..The only complaint We had was that the bed was kind of hard, compared to the comfort of the lamplighters bed in Mackinaw city, Kewadin gets a thumbs down on bed comfort, but it was sleepable after a few drinks and gambling. The bathroom wasn't spotless, soap left on the top edge of shower and a long hair on wall of shower..other than that it was good!!

Room Tip: our room was on the parking lot, could hear the morning grounds crew working and the bus tour people...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReneeA35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2.9 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
390 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel

Address: 3015 Mackinac Trl, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-9758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $80 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kewadin Shores St. Ignace Casino Hotel is located on the scenic shores of Lake Huron. This 81-room property offers slots, table games, poker, dining, live entertainment an indoor heated pool and free wifi. The hotel also has an onsite RV park. Be it for business or pleasure, when you stay at the St. Ignace Hotel you’ll find just what you’re looking for. Book now and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewadin Shores Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing