We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to a New York experience as you'll find in MI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastside Bagel

Eastside Bagel
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Eastside Bagel is a family-owned restaurant that has been serving bagel lovers in St. Clair Shores since 1994. Eastside Bagel makes their bagels the right way - from scratch. We believe that there are no shortcuts to creating high quality bagels. Mentored by a true New York bagel-maker, our bagels are water-boiled and hearth-baked directly in the oven, making them truly authentic. Apart from bagels, we have sandwiches, daily soups, salads, and smoothies, and our famous breakfast cookies that are good for you too! Our customers attest to our friendly staff, and we pride ourselves on being the first bagel shop on the Eastside. We truly know the importance of family, and that is why we want to give you and your family the best bagel experience. Voted best bagel in Southeast Michigan - come see why!
St. Clair Shores, MI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“As close to a New York experience as you'll find in MI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Decades upon decades ago I was won over to the taste of bagels by those my parents regularly brought to our home in Flushing, Queens. Gave up on that experience when we moved to Michigan.

But in the here-and-now, I can honestly say that the old standby, plain bagel with a schmere of butter turned out by Eastside Bagel, is a very nearly replicant of the taste that haunted me from my youth in NYC.

Finding this simple gem of a food has made me a repeat customer here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmyk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Owner at Eastside Bagel, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Happy to hear our bagels give you a taste of NYC! Thanks for all the kind words.

Take care,
The Parent Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Variety of coffees - Bakery Blend is good, always in regular and decaf. Lots of varieties of bagels. Also has bagel sandwiches, salads, soup and chili. Service is always good. They do tend to run out of egg bagels pretty early though. They do a lot for the local area too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mackinaclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Owner at Eastside Bagel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoy everything from the bagels to chili. Thanks for the great review.

Take care,
The Parent Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Asiago Spinach Bagel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Eastside Bagels offers a variety of bagels, cream cheeses and breakfast or lunch sandwich options .
Coffee, tea, and other drinks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kdvani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Owner at Eastside Bagel, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation! We're here whenever you need another asiago spinach bagel.

Take care,
The Parent Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastside Bagel also viewed

Saint Clair Shores, MI
Saint Clair Shores, MI
 
Saint Clair Shores, MI
 
Saint Clair Shores, MI
Saint Clair Shores, MI
 

Been to Eastside Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing