We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of any Hotel on the River”
Review of Blue Water Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Clair
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Clair B&B and Inns
Marine City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best view of any Hotel on the River”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The freighters are very close at this point of the river due to an island, you can sit on the balcony and have a wonderful time just watching river traffic including 1000' freighters. The entire establishment is slightly dated but clean, The beds are all Kings with great pillows. They are attached to Chuck Muir River Crab Restaurant, which adds some convenience. The parking can be a bit of an issue at dinner time, but we were able to park on site every day we stayed there. The have a complimentary continental breakfast. We have stayed there 3 times and will return again. Unfortunately, there are very few choices along the great St. Clair River, and to me this is the best one.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best view, but all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
6
65
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was well appointed, cozy and clean. Staff was great at check in and attentive during stay.
The view of the river and freighter traffic is great from every room and balcony. Great weekend getaway from the hub bub and excellent for couples.

Room Tip: Stay away from 210 and room below as they may have the closet location to the riverfront they are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Make sure you belong to or purchase at checkin a Landry Select Club membership ($25USD) which make you eligible for a significantly discounted rate on your hotel room nightly charge (I have a night reserved in August and rack rate is $109 and Landry Select rate is $96). Plus you get a $25 Landry reward on your account which you can use in the Muer restaurant River Crab adjoining this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank pb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clair
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed here several times because of work. I tried to give them the benefit of the doubt.....but I won't be back. There is not reserved parking for anyone staying at the hotel so if the restaurant is packed you have to park across the street and carry your luggage across Busha Highway. The room connected to mine had a smoker (the smoke was coming through the adjoining door). I called the front desk as I am allergic to smoke and nothing was done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an old motel attached to an upscale seafood restaurant called the River Crab. The motel has three levels. All rooms have exterior entry doors that are accessed on each level by a wide balcony/walkway. Best views of the river are from the upper two levels. The rooms are spacious and have been very tastefully remodeled in the last two to three years in an upscale, MODERN decor and color schemes. It is obvious that high-quality fixtures were used when the rooms were remodeled, except for the old HVAC units which look decidedly out of place. In fact, the only drawback during our stay was that antique air-conditioning unit (see photo), which can be set for either on or off and was otherwise impossible to regulate. As the night we stayed was very hot and humid, opening one of the screened front picture windows was not an option. Front desk staff was very helpful and a limited continental breakfast is provided in the small registration lobby area. Yes, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our mid-May, two-night stay at this hotel was a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our clean room on the third floor (#304) was spacious and had a great view of the St. Clair River. It was pleasant to sit in the comfortable tub chairs nicely positioned in front of the large windows and sip a coffee/cocktail, read the paper (supplied at the front desk), watch television or the freighters passing by. Had the weather complied, it would have been pleasant to sit on the balcony overlooking the river. The spacious washroom, small fridge and coffee maker (with coffee) were appreciated. The bed was very comfortable and each night we enjoyed a good sleep. A bit of early morning traffic could be heard. We also enjoyed a very tasty dinner at the adjoining River Crab restaurant. The staff and service were excellent. Had it not been so cool, dinner on the deck overlooking the river would have been quite pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our 1st experience at the Blue Water Inn was a good one. The renovated rooms are modern and cozy. It was great to be able to enjoy a terrific view of the river and watch the freighters go by. Dinner at the River Crab was excellent. We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside!
Since this is a short drive from the Bluewater Bridge crossing, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Marysville / Port Huron Area
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn

Property: Blue Water Inn
Address: 1337 North River Road, Saint Clair, MI 48079
Location: United States > Michigan > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Clair
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Blue Water Hotel Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing