We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ice Cream Place in Town!”

Mooney's Ice Cream Store
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Saginaw
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Place in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We love Mooney's, don't forget about them in the winter, the ice cream is still just as good! GREAT value, lots of ice cream for very little money, millions of favors that you can try a taste of before committing to a whole scoop. They also stock a few ice cream cakes in the freezer if something comes up to celebrate. Locally owned for years.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

It says I visited in August, but in reality I go to Moonies more than I should!! It is delicious ice cream with unique flavors and the value is top notch! But be warned! A single is actually two scoops and a double is three scoops! Favorite flavors include cinnamon crumb cake, chocolate, moose tracks, mackinac island fudge, and cookies and cream just to name a few! If you love ice cream, you will definitely enjoy Moonies!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossvacation27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the classic local ice cream shop. They serve really large portions of delicious ice cream. I get a baby scoop which fills a whole styrofoam cup full.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw,MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is always busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We took my 93 year old mother there for a treat, she had the Black Cherry and loved it. My wife and I usually split a Banana Split, they are big and with so many choice of ice cream and several topping. Always friendly no matter how busy they are.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveled0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty ice cream in the tri cities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Came here after going to the nearby Greek Fest, and considering that it was pretty hot out, it was a refreshing treat. With the long lines (due to the hot weather), the service was pretty slow, but with only 2 young girls assisting, it was understandable. Others didn't seem to be as forgiving. Be patient people!

Husband and I split a baby size Mackinac Island Fudge. Similar portions to Ray's down in Royal Oak, but the consistency was richer and creamier. Personally prefer Ray's over this place, but the flavor was nice. The small chunks of fudge mixed in was the right size and wasn't overwhelming in the mouth. Priced at $2.50 for the baby size, it was cheaper than Ray's.

I'd come back next time I was in the area for another function, and I think it's a nice treat if you are in the area, but if you're impatient, don't bother coming here during warm weather.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tycl516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooney's Ice Cream Store also viewed

 

Been to Mooney's Ice Cream Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing