We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HUNGRY”

Tony's Original Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 273 Restaurants in Saginaw
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HUNGRY”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Beat nachos in a big package! Couple of us ate them and still had some to take home. Obviously not fine dining but good food at good price with wonderful staff.

Helpful?
Thank CBear1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“childhood memory”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we Visited Tony's located by Fashion Square Mall for a great breakfast (if you area bacon lover don't miss a Tony's breakfast) and Tony's located on Gratiot for their well known steak sandwich.
Both were very clean, wait person great and prices reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerrib1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always stop back when in town”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having grown up in Saginaw, I was spoiled with being able to enjoy Tony's whenever I wanted.. after moving away from the town, many years ago, whenever I make it back I ALWYS stop back. Grilled steak sandwich with pizza cheese...very few sandwiches can compare in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Sad to say, think its losing a step”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I will never grow tired of a grilled steak and cheese with sautéed onions and sauce. It's one of life's happy moments. Mix it in with a bag of onion rings and an ice tea and you have a good day. Service has changed here a little bit, or maybe I'm just getting old, but those who have eaten a Tony's Steak and Cheese know what I'm talking about when you haven't had one in a while. It takes you back to being a kid, of good times and no worries. Only problem, our cardiologists would probably frown on us eating this now. Came here with my wife and daughter, they aren't from Saginaw so didn't understand. She had the spaghetti and thought the noodles were overcooked. Salad is just basic mixed greens. Bread is always amazing. Daughter had a burger and said was just a burger. Both agreed that the steak sandwich was the bomb!! Will always come back, even if it is without them. Perfect place with family, on your own, a date, (not on a diet) old or young. And, even if you aren't hungry, pop in and try one of the Sundaes, definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tony's but which one?”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

They're all good but there are four different Tony's in Saginaw and none are by the same owner anymore. So try one then try the other three you'll find they're pretty darn good! Try the Steak Sandwich with pizza cheese and mushrooms with an order of Onion rings, but you better be hungry!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJB049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Original Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Original Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing