We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Japanese Cultural Center
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Saginaw
Attraction details
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Shannon was very informative, welcoming and knowledgeable. No question went unanswered. The grounds were so beautiful. You could trick yourself into believing to were visiting a garden in Japan.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kassidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Culturally informative”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We found this small treasure through the City of Saginaw's website. It was very easy to access and a perfect place to unwind from the busyness of the holiday weekend.
While the gardens aren't any thing spectacular they are pleasantly peaceful. We enjoyed the volunteer staff presentation regarding the history of the tea house and background of the formal tea ceremonies. The little mini tea presentation was a nice touch.
We also participated in the Star ceremony. What a wonderful delight our unplanned stop proved to be
If you stop in be sure to check the hours so that you can have a docent share with you. Otherwise enjoy the serenity of the small garden.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cultural experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I really enjoyed this visit. Very knowledgeable staff, and interesting details about the building of the tea house. Beautiful construction!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillybeans7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular....”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Grew up in Saginaw and always remembered how much I enjoyed visiting the Japanese Gardens (the actual 'cultural center' was added years later). Was excited to add a visit to the Gardens as part of a day trip to my hometown with my 3 teenagers. There were no tea ceremonies or special events scheduled on this day, so this review is based just on our walk through the gardens. A large gazebo sits overlooking Lake Linton, and I was pleased to see that the bright red foot bridge over the charming little waterfall was still there The gardens are well manicured, but there are no flowers and hardly any statues. The plants and trees all appeared to be native to this area. Unfortunately I found nothing spectacular to rekindle the excitement I once felt, and the kids were not impressed. Overall our visit lasted maybe 15 minutes. Small signs along the footpath detailing Japanese customs and even maybe some piped in traditional Japanese music would've added some appeal. It felt more like a stroll through someone's backyard, there was simply nothing to set it apart.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tea for Two”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you get the chance to experience the Japanese Tea Ceremony it is a must do, if not your thing you can wander the gardens and just relax!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LJB049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Japanese Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing