We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Jakes Old City Grill
Ranked #9 of 276 Restaurants in Saginaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Midland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were going to an event at the Dow Center and dropped in here for a quick dinner. They were good at ensuring we good or food in good time to make the event. We just had sandwiches the po boy and the mini Jake's but they were very good. We'll come back here for a longer more formal meal sometime.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MICHIGAN
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok food, ok service”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have been here a few times in the last few years, each time hoping for a better experience. The food is just ok and the service is not very good. Saginaw craves an upscale restaurant in the "Old Town" district with great food and great service but has yet to accomplish it. People will come back to a restaurant with ok food if they get great service. I'm certain it's their service that is the problem. The staff just doesn't really seem to care. They are over priced for what they offer. We're willing to pay a couple extra dollars if we feel it's worth it. We go to Old City Hall in Bay City and get exactly that. Great food, Great service! I'll keep my fingers crossed that the Owners read these reviews and do something about their service as that seems to be a common theme among the other reviews.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABSPORTSFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, Beautiful Building, Poor Service”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a great old building that was restored. My husband and I loved the "feel" of the restaurant. We went during Valentines Day and the food was great, but they really nickel and dime you for every little thing. They offered my brother onions on his steak and he was shocked to find out that it cost him and additional $5 on his bill. For onions? I got lobster on mine for the same price! He would never have got them if he knew it was going to be $5. The service was mediocre at best.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepig112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food- terrible service.”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to Jake's. The food was very good - although our order was mixed up and serviced in the wrong order- soup and salad after our entree. We also ordered martinis and we got serviced each others (I got my husbands and he got mine- which we quickly switched). Our server was not visible to us- we had to go to the bar to ask for our bill. They were not busy at the time of our visit (a Saturday around 5:30) so there was no reason for the many mix-ups. While we enjoyed our night out and the yummy food- the service was very dissappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tpdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,400 helpful votes
“Our 2nd visit......just not impressed”
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We have had dinner here at Jake's now twice. Our first visit was just the two of us. DH got a steak, and it was not well cooked at all. He was very disappointed. Returned to have to done to his request-again, came back well done, yet again. My chicken dish was OK, nothing to write home about. We had drinks, and they were good. Price: much too expensive for what we got, esp in Saginaw.

Second visit-a family affair. Grandparents, grown children, grandchildren celebrating a birthday. We did not pick the place. Everyone got steaks but 2 people. Some reported their was excellent. DH's again came too well down, after requesting it medium. One other steak came back well done, after requesting "pink." I don't think they can cook steaks! Two of us had chicken dinners and both stated chicken was good, not great and a bit dry. Two had pasta dishes, with chicken. Pasta was great-sauce was great-chicken-very dry! Drinks all around were good.

Service---waitress very friendly but forgot many items and then would always joke about it. Asked us to wait several times while she handled a large party near us. She told us they were demanding. We were very patient. After a while it got a bit ridiculous. We had to ask for several items more than twice. Water, napkins, steak sauce, coffee, sugar etc.

Price: again, too expensive for Saginaw and for what you get. Portions are not that large but acceptable. I definitely think you can find a better steak in Saginaw somewhere else.

Decor-a 5. Vintage, old Saginaw city brick, wood, glass, very nice.

Parking-street-private lot across street.

Bathrooms-clean.

We won't try it again, however.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakes Old City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jakes Old City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing