We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
First Annual Lupus Awareness Walk!

My wife and I organized this walk in May for Lupus Awareness Month. Even though it was a rainy day... read more

Reviewed June 10, 2018
jon671859
,
Saginaw, Michigan
Picnic on Ojibway

Park is still as beautiful as it was 50 years ago , many a picnic was had! Fireworks every 4th of... read more

Reviewed January 22, 2018
Amelia R
via mobile
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
9
10
11
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
11
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 37 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ojibway Island is lovely - truly - but with the limited parking it is frustrating. We drove in circles, to finally find a spot.

That just put a damper on things.

Thank Suz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I image if you just wanted a picnic table to catch some rays or fresh air by the river this the place for you.
There were a number of young men hanging around with no obvious purpose. So I don't think I would recommend this as a place to take the family. Too bad as the park has some great places to visit nearby.

3  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A ride around the island has areas for gatherings & yard games, parking and picnic tables usually available. Attractions include Music Festival during the summer, Public stage area for civic functions, playground for kids. Sit along the Saginaw river and enjoy a usually peaceful time.
Originally a massive mound of sawdust from the lumbering era, Ojibway Island became hard packed as more fill dirt was added to stabilize the ground. That land was made official real estate in 1905 when the property was donated to the city by lumber baron Ezra Rust.
Check out the official rocktheisland website:

http://www.rocktheisland.net/about-ojibway-island/

1  Thank Michicamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had business to do on the otherside of the river, had a few minutes to spare and decided to cruise around the Island. It used to be a great place to go, but this part of town is not the safest anymore and I would not go there at night. When there are large events like the KCQ concert it would be safe enough, but alone, or at night, not so much. There is only one way on and off the Island, and the road is one way. It would be too easy to get in a world of hurt on the back end. I would not eat any fish caught in the river. If you are looking for a park like setting, say for a picnic or family gathering, I would go elsewhere.

6  Thank michigander311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This park hosts several concerts throughout the summer and spring months, a big one is the Country Music Fest that attracts people from all over , even bussing people in to Saginaw. Also a nice park to do your walking and viewing the fireworks.

Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews