We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes

Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Caerwent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dewstow Gardens are Grottoes are recently discovered gardens built in the 1890's. buried in the 1950's and rediscovered and escavated in 2000. We are now open for the summer months and welcome visitors of all ages including pre-booked coach parties. Please check out our website for further details.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Loved the grottos and underground paths, kids would love it. Not much wheel chair access .Lots of trees, plants etc.Ideal place for a picnic.The ponds are really nice, spotted some red and blue dragonflies.had tea at the cafe and a hot bacon and melted brie roll.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    47
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very unusual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful gardens. Lots of running water, stepping stones and underground tunnels.
Tea shop selling lovely cakes and icecreams. Toilets on site. Plenty of outside seating with shade on a hot day. Lovely place to spend an afternoon. Not suitable for wheelchairs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I have visited a number of gardens in and around the UK, but I have to say that this one is the best so far. These gardens are not large by any stretch of the imagination, but what is contained within its boundaries is, frankly, quite breath taking. At this time of the year, the variety of trees, flora and fauna, can hold its own with the best of gardens many times its size and the grottos are a brilliant added bonus. Even for adults, these semi underground passages and spaces containing ponds, stepping stones and all manner of greenery, stimulate the memories of childhood adventures long gone, with scary trolls and dwarfs and is an absolute must for families with young ones. There is a small cafe selling drinks and good quality snacks (freshly made sandwiches etc) There is both indoor and outdoor seating. Parking is simple. You park on grass, in amongst the trees, just by the entrance. Entry is £6:50pp with lower prices for other categories and worth every penny. You could probably cover the whole site in about one and a half hours, but that is not what this place is about. It is a place for reflection and thought.
So where's the downside. Pretty minimal actually. Parts of the grounds are not wheel chair/buggy or disabled friendly, but I certainly would not let this category be put off visiting. There are large ponds, small ponds, streams with bridges, fish and all manner of natural aquatic life to be enjoyed by all. There is a fair amount of traffic noise from the motorway that can be heard in certain sections of the garden, but this did not detract from the overall experience. If I could give this place six pips, I probably would

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
634 reviews
299 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
“care and dedication - something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a privately run gardens offered at a reasonable price. There are very interesting grottoes built by someone for the money was no object. The gardens themselves were lost in the 1960s and had waste from a nearby motorway dumped on them but were rediscovered about 15 years ago and have been renovated.

The person designing the gardens had an obsession with running water and there are plenty of streams, ponds, features, so any water enthusiasts need look no further.

At the entrance is a very decent cafe with lovely cakes.

We had a good couple of hours there and as I say above there is something to interest everybody.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, felt like being a kid again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there on a very sunny and was peaceful day. There's so many interesting things to see if you just like to have a wander around the garden. The most we enjoyed were the stepping stones around the water, ponds, various different plants, underground tunnels, and beautiful history garden. We would like to go back there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank whacky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Raglan, Monmouthshire
Caldicot, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing