We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, felt like being a kid again!”

Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Caerwent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dewstow Gardens are Grottoes are recently discovered gardens built in the 1890's. buried in the 1950's and rediscovered and escavated in 2000. We are now open for the summer months and welcome visitors of all ages including pre-booked coach parties. Please check out our website for further details.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, felt like being a kid again!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there on a very sunny and was peaceful day. There's so many interesting things to see if you just like to have a wander around the garden. The most we enjoyed were the stepping stones around the water, ponds, various different plants, underground tunnels, and beautiful history garden. We would like to go back there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank whacky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    49
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds UK
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Weird and a surprise!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not another garden to see I thought..shall I stay in the car and read the paper? Well what a surprise..in a way One doesn't want to say too much to spoil it for others. Just to say that the gardens were built about a 100 years ago and after the 2nd world war were covered and becamr fields. It was only in 2000 that the new ownners found a step down that it all started again. Go and see for yourslf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PandPCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited Dewstow on a very hot Satuday afternoon. What a delight and a hidden gem. I am not a gardener but I enjoyed the visit so much. The grottoes and tunnels are just so unexpected and unusual. I had never heard of a Pulham designed garden but since visiting have carried out some research into it - really interesting, We made use of the many areas to sit and relax in and soak iup the scenery and the amazing view across the Severn Estuary. I have already recommeded the gardens to several friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank woodland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent day out.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We always have a great time everytime we visit Dewstow Gardens. The Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Lots of things to discover. Activity trails for the children. Very pleasant coffee/snack shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Another Enjoyable Visit To Dewstow.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been waiting for a lovely sunny day to revisit Dewstow Garden. This Tuesday delivered the perfect day and off we went. A friendly welcome from the ladies in the cafe/ booking office started the visit off well. After enjoying a quick freshly prepared lunch on the picnic benches we set off. It is so pleasant to just ramble around the grottoes and then the gardens, stopping every now and again to enjoy the birdsong and the sound of water rushing through the many water features. In the distance it is possible to see the Severn Estuary.
At £6 per person, a visit here is excellent value and you can make it as long or short as you like, enjoy!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Caldicot, Monmouthshire
 
Raglan, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing