We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“52 Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elm Farm Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“52 Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Had a most enjoyable time good food, friendly staff, accommodation clean, warm, comfortable
Hoping to stay again.Elm Farm is situated in a most peaceful location although just a few miles from Norwich Airport we were not disturbed at all. We would like to go back in the summer months so we can enjoy a time in the garden area.

Room Tip: Management most accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    332
    137
    67
    60
See reviews for
256
559
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Absolutely terrible – We had a horrible three night stay here. The bed was so uncomfortable, the room didn't have a chair or a bin in there.The whole place from the bedroom to the pub & eating area just looked so unhygienic. The food was not fit to give to a animal, it was that bad. As you can see we would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeallHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Farm N, Owner at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello "Bealhonest",
Thank you for your comments, all of which we take seriously and will use to ensure future guests have a more pleasant experience at Elm farm. Firstly I would like to say that im sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and also that you didn't raise any of these points during your stay with us, also you stayed at Elm Farm in August 4 months before your review. I have looked into your comments and your stay with us, I notice that you have given Elm farm just a single star for value, You booked with us through a groupon deal where you were offered 3 nights stay full board, bed, breakfast and 2 course evening meal every night for less that £150 in a double room that's over £100 reduction on our standard rate, Im sorry that you didn't find our location satisfactory, we are located in a rural village located 5 miles from Norwich City centre as depicted on all our advertising platforms, can I suggest that if this isn't the location for you, perhaps you should look to book a more suitable one in the future. All our meals are freshly prepared and cooked in our kitchens, by our 3 full time chefs, catering for both restaurant and wedding guests we cook over 500 meals per week. Elm farm was built in 1604 and retains many of its original features, with solid oak floors and beams, the accommodation is situated in converted stables which also retain many of the original features, im sorry if this creates the impression to you that its unhygienic, but I can assure you, its nothing further from the truth, we have 20 staff that work round the clock to ensure that all our guests regardless of the reason for their stay, have a pleasant, enjoyable and relaxing time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Elm Farm is in a beautiful, peaceful location and the people working there have created a cosy, warm, welcoming atmosphere. The food and drinks were more than satisfying.
I would definitely suggest the country house to any Petans candidate, since it's located at only half a mile from the training center, but do be careful to check the box while making your reservation (this way you get a 10GBP worth dinner each night for free).
My only complaint is that the rooms are not soundproof, the mattresses provide medium comfort and WiFi only works in the main building.
Bottom line: High scores for location and people!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The people are rude! Don't feel your safe. The whole experience terrible. Would never go there again in my life. They should not be in business with the public. Not accommodating. Food awful, locals don't like people that come there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ashtonleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
356manager, Manager at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, all feedback is used to continually improve the service we offer. Unfortunately i see that your experience was not a pleasurable one. I have looked into the date you stayed and i have found the reason why. At the time of your stay there had been a very sad occasion in our village , as we are a very close community it affected us all, a very close friend and well respected member of the village suddenly passed away the week earlier. I do understand that this shouldnt impact onto your stay, but it was a very hard time for both staff and local customers alike, it was such a shock for everyone. Her wake was hosted at Elm farm and over 300 people attended to pay their respects. I do hope that you will give Elm Farm another chance sometime in the future so that you can see it with a different view. our staff work very hard to ensure every customer feels welcome and that we have a friendly home from home atmosphere which im sure is reflected in other reviews. On your next stay please make yourself known to me and we will offer you a complementary upgrade for the duration of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Functional little property with rooms in the main building and a off building. We stayed in the out house which was spacious, clean and warm. Main building offers a bar and restaurant area serving traditional pub food. Accommodating to little ones too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The first impression was of a homely place which was very peaceful and quiet. Lots of parking space and the rooms were very comfortable and well kitted. The bar was nice and quiet with the staff being very attentive. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and one could tell that a trained chef was on board. The starter of king prawns came with sweet chilli dip and salad with tasty dressing(mustard with vinegar). I had to ask about the dressing. The buffet breakfast was a peaceful affair in a room with a nice view. Full English breakfast with cereals was available and the lovely coffee was served in a cafetier. The only negative was that the bathroom smelt of damp. If ever we visited Norwich again we would not hesitate to stay there. Norwich airport is nearby and I enjoyed my chat with the co-owner about aviation. It seems he worked there as an aircraft mechanic for 34yrs. The decor in the bar could be made more interesting by putting up aircraft parts(props,engine blades etc) to reflect the aviation history of the place. The entrance could be much better lit as we drove right past it first time.

Room Tip: Room 5 was good for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Absolutely terrible – I had a horrible three night stay here.

1) They had great problems providing my breakfast.
2) I found a mucky footprint on my pillow.
3) The cleaners left my ground floor room windows open all day with all of my belongings in the room and it was freezing when I returned.
4) The curtain rail fell down and I was promised it would be fixed the next day and it was not.
5) Finally, the manager was rude and made-up ridiculous excuses rather than apologising.

Needless to say I will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 793KathA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsham St Faith
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
212 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
2.5 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Farm Country House

Property: Elm Farm Country House
Address: 55 Norwich Road, Horsham St Faith NR10 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Horsham St Faith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horsham St Faith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elm Farm Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1604, this former farm is full of charm and character with large duck pond and array of animals. Elm farm offers a peaceful retreat or relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elm Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing