We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midweek Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elm Farm Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A quaint, comfortable and friendly hotel with it's own bar. The locals use it and they were all very friendly and welcoming. We took our grand daughter with us and it was a great little break. We will be going back in the future

Room Tip: Kids activities and swimming pool = N/A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBL1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having read some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about our 3 night groupon stay!

We were pleasantly surprised. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and warm. The breakfast was great, evening meals even better. The portion sizes were huge and we struggled to get through it all. They were able to cater for my special dietary
requirements without any fuss and the chef prepared all the food fresh that day. It made a huge difference to our stay.

Elm Farm is rated 3 star bed & breakfast and delivers good value for money for a 3 star establishment. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 defiantly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A very tired establishment. Went for a wedding. Payed extra for early check in but rooms were ready anyway. A miserable host where every request seemed a hassle. Rooms basic, food average. Asked for toast at breakfast, would have thought I'd asked for the moon. Wallked round the grounds and had to dodge dog poo!! Very dissapointing....would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1971De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a 3 night Bed breakfast and dinner deal from Groupon. A great deal for the price and a good location to see this beautiful part of England. I was not sure about the overall rating but because the price was so good (this prompted the extra point overall. The rooms were nothing special and the dinner in the evening was ok pub food in the pub, chips came with almost everything, if you liked chips it was ok. The only other vegetable was peas with the fish and chips, rather worryingly the soup of the day for all 3 days was vegetable. The menu is fixed and was the same every night. Saying that there was a piazza option and I think 1 veggie option. The breakfast was buffet style which was fine and tasty. As I said this 3 day stay was such a good deal,You get what you pay for so don't expect gourmet food or luxury rooms. If you manage to get a deal go for it and enjoy Norfolk as we did. I would not pay full rate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayjay200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

On friday the 1st November our daughter got married and had the reception at Elm Farm Country House, Form the first moment we started speaking to Steve he took all our worries away and made the whole experience so easy, he arranged everything form the meal, tables, buffet, toast master, it was all fantastic, the food was first class, the place was so clean and organized, the outside was stunning background for the pictures, Steve made our daughters dream day perfect, Our friend stayed in the guest rooms and all commented how perfect it was, the breakfast was a large choice, we loved it so much we returned to the firework display on the 2nd november which was the best i have been to in years, we will now become regulars at Elm Farm thanks to Steve and the team a true bunch of professionals.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here using a Groupon voucher which included an evening meal which appeared to be very good value. The location was good and the room was in good order so the experience started well.
The evening meal was a nightmare as it took 2.5 hours to serve 2 courses of very basic pub grub. I could not eat the pastry on the pie as it tasted stale and the chips were horrible! The tracle sponge had been re heated so many times it was rock hard and inedible. The experience was so bad we did not dine in the restaurant on the second evening. To top of the evening the smoke alarm in the hall was bleeping all night!
Breakfast the next day was also terrible with over cooked sausages and bacon that were inedible.
This place has alot of potential but is under staffed and poorly managed so I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Farm N, Owner at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hello Lisa,
Thank you for your comments they will help us to improve the service we offer. We served evening meals in our restaurant from 5 until 8pm at the time you stayed with us and I have checked our records, you arrived for your evening meal at 6:30pm we were very busy and you didn't book a table, all our meals are freshly prepared and cooked to order so waiting times can be extended slightly during peak times, the kitchen closed on time that night as normal. Im sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal but I have checked our records and there was nothing mentioned to the waiting staff at the time, had you done so im sure they would have done their best to rectify any problems you may have had. You did mention to bar staff, or maybe another guest, that the alarm was beeping signifying that a new battery was required, this was immediately rectified. The smoke detectors are an important part of the protection systems in place at Elm farm to ensure your safety and are mandatory, im sorry if this affected your comfort for a short while. Elm Farm is the largest employer in the area with over 20 staff, there are times when predicted workloads are under estimated but never to a point where customer care starts to suffer. We only use locally sourced fresh meat and sausages prepared at local butchers for our customers, im sorry if they weren't cooked you your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The rooms are awful, the food not much better. The only saving grace is that the staff are very friendly but understaffed! This was a Groupon break and will be our last Groupon trip as you do get what you pay for.

Stayed: October 2013
5  Thank Sandihud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Farm N, Owner at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hello Sandihud,
Thank you for your comments, Elm Farm was built in 1604 and im sorry if it wasn't to your taste, all of our accommodation is recently refurbished and on the ground floor usually well suited to our older guests, We are a 3 star rated guest house with bar and restaurant facilities offering quality and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsham St Faith
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#2 of 2 in Horsham St Faith
120 reviews
2.6 mi away
The White Horse Crostwick
The White Horse Crostwick
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Church Farm Guesthouse
Church Farm Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Horsford
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Farm Country House

Address: 55 Norwich Road, Horsham St Faith NR10 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Horsham St Faith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horsham St Faith
Price Range: $95 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elm Farm Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1604, this former farm is full of charm and character with large duck pond and array of animals. Elm farm offers a peaceful retreat or relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elm Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing