We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bnb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elm Farm Country House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great bnb!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perfect location if you are attending a Petans training course. 5-7 minute walk from Elm Farm Country House. Full bar facilities, wifi and restaurant on site. Rooms are clean and tidy with a lovely view of the gardens and pond area. Would highly recommend this bnb to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    299
    120
    64
    51
See reviews for
231
508
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We arrived to a quite quiet restaurant and had to wait for ages for a table. We then ordered, mostly carvery (which wasn't self service) but then had to wait an absolute age to receive it. When the meals finally arrived most have them appeared to have been read their last rites and were burnt to a crisp. I asked if they had any "less black potatoes" and was told "no, they're all like that, they've just come out of the oven" - the waitress then walked off. A waiter came and I complained to him to about both the food and the waitress. She appeared again and said "do you want mash then?" The yorkshire puddings would have easily passed as black tennis balls!! It was very telling when the waitress came to collect the plates and DIDN'T say "was everything OK?" The only redeeming feature of the meal was the dessert which was OK but custard v. v. v. lumpy. We then sat there for maybe an hour more and then I went and asked for the bill... which took another lifetime for the waitress to work out, back and forth to the menu and tickets she went. I really advise anyone to stay well away from this place. Bad food, very bad service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank funzy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Farm N, Manager at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your meal, Thank you for your feedback it is used to improve the service we offer. Carvery on sundays is offered between 12 and 4 pm after this time we serve plated meals. All of our food is homecooked and prepared here on site, we dont use ready cooked microwave food and so doesnt have the "perfect" uniformly cooked look which you associate with large chains, we also like to offer a more relaxed service without pushing our customers for more drinks etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just back from taking the family (table for six) to the Elm Farm. Lovely old building and duck pond round the back, pleasant dining room, though it did have an unfortunate open plan design resulting in a clear view of Sky Sports and drinkers at the bar.
They have a separate vegan menu, though disappointingly this was not on the website or copied into the menu on the tables. So you need to call and they can email it to you and they request pre-bookings, a shame as several of my party would like to have tried the choices on that menu rather than the regular veggie options on the main menu! No matter the vegan crispy garlic mushroom was the best mushroom I have ever eaten. Do make an effort to ask for it. Hopefully they will make vegan options a regular part of the menu going forward.
Service was good, nice chap showed us straight to our table and took our drinks orders there. Bar prices were very competitive and had good real ale options.
All in all we were impressed, there are areas for improvement as highlighted above, but we will be happy to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeggieFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Farm N, Owner at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your honest comments - all feedback is used to improve the service we offer. We have now added our vegan menu to our regular menu and also it will be added to our website when its next updated. Thank you once again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

very expensive food from a microwave.rude service staff and dirty never again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms were dirty still had dirty linen on beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 453sarah_s453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Farm N, Manager at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
All our food is freshly prepared and cooked on the premises, only using fresh ingredients. Main meals from the menu start at £5 and specials from £7.50 Im sorry if you feel that is expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

A small decent cottage place and very cheap compared to other hotels. has own small pub and restaurant. Offers bed and breakfast. rooms are very clean. bathrooms are fitted with bathtubs and hot water is available which is very much needed. Area is very much clean and if anyone is interested in walking, beautiful country side awaits you. Not many eateries around, literally none. but the farm house restaurant and pub takes care of the need.

Room Tip: All are standard rooms on the ground floor and any vehicles coming and going cause disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsham St Faith
3.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#2 of 2 in Horsham St Faith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Farm Country House

Property: Elm Farm Country House
Address: 55 Norwich Road, Horsham St Faith NR10 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Horsham St Faith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horsham St Faith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elm Farm Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1604, this former farm is full of charm and character with large duck pond and array of animals. Elm farm offers a peaceful retreat or relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elm Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing