We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a relaxing break.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delamere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Ocean Retreats
Ranked #1 of 1 Delamere B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly a relaxing break.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We knew we were in for a truly relaxing couple of days away from Adelaide when driving up to the villa, there wasn't any mobile reception from Optus. The beautiful native plants surrounding the villa (#3) immediately brought on a sense of calm. The villa itself allows you to soak in the outdoors through the large windows/sliding doors throughout. There was plenty of wood provided to have a fire in the slow combustion which heated the entire villa. Without a TV, it was so easy to sit and chat with a lovely glass of wine while enjoying the ambience of the fire. While the kitchen is small, it is well equipped. If you are going to be cooking, do bring your own condiments such as pepper, salt, olive oil etc. It is perfectly located within a short distance to fabulous walks and beaches. One downfall is the lack of laundry facilities for travellers wanting to wash clothes. Very comfort and will definitely be going back to stay in the winter with friends.

Room Tip: Villa #1 and #2 have views overlooking the national park whereas Villa #3 has high vegetation in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomkarAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Beautiful national park with a nice chic apartment set within it. there is a small stereo with variety of discs and cards to keep you entertained in evenings. Outside bbq to cook on and inside stove. Nice chimney for fire place to add to ambience. a bit pricey however you are right in bushland with modern amenities. My grandma and grandad really enjoyed particularly as they do not want to camp.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashakru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to go. Set in the heart of an ancient stringybark forest, these retreats are perfect for escaping the busyness of everyday life and nestling on a couch with a good book in front of the wood burning fire. We went here during winter (July) and spent hours in front of the fire reading and watching DVDs (on our computer... there is no TV... part of getting away from it all). The properties are modern and sophisticated, with a design which sits comfortably with the landscape. Nature is at your doorstep and straight out of the window in unit 1 there is the most amazing stringybark tree which you can sit and stare at for hours. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio, with tiny blue wrens landing on the table.

The location within the Deep Creek region on the southern edge of the Fleurieu Peninsula, is perfect for bushwalking (we reckon Blow Hole Beach is one of the most challenging, but also the most worthwhile of the walks through Deep Creek Conservation Park).

And although isolated, the properties are not too far from Normanville and Yankalilla, so you can pop up there for lunch or dinner if you don't want to eat at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidspeirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on Valentines day. It is very quiet and picturesque. There are 3 cottages side by side which was unexpected as I was looking for privacy and seclusion. Having said that there was no noise except for nature which was nice. The kangaroos come right up to the door and don't run away when you go outside :)

The owners need to do a better job re dusting and cobwebs but aside from that they were pretty groovy and ever so relaxing. Certainly very nice in comparison to a tent! Clean sheets, nice linen, hot showers and a great bathroom.

Take your own drinking water, the tank water tastes a bit odd even when boiled. Tea and coffee range is average so take your own if you are fussy. There is no TV or Internet service out here but that is exactly what we were looking for.

The walks are peaceful and we had Boat Harbour Beach totally to ourselves for hours. Divine! (Note: the walk back up is steep).

I did think that $225 / night was maybe a bit high but I would definitely go back in the winter as I think being able to have a wood fire and walk in the rain there would be fabulous.

Hope you go and enjoy it. We did!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SassyCmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
As we are located in the heart of a semi wilderness environment surrounded by nature at our door step the challenges of presenting our properties in a pristine manner are somewhat greater than for a B&B in the High Street. However, this is not to say that we can't do better and we will certainly endeavour to do so! We solely rely on rainwater for all our services and to some guests this has a different taste to the chlorinated mains water provided in Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took my partner here for his birthday. Lovely looking Max Pritchard designed retreat on the edge of Deep Creek Conservation Park. There are 3 retreats together and we were told that they were quite separate but when I stood in the bedroom of Retreat No:1 - I could see straight into No: 2. Maybe a bit more vegetation planted between them could screen for a bit more privacy. For the price $235 per night for 2 people we expected a bit more luxury than we got. We were left with only half a roll of toilet paper for a 2 night stay. The fluro above the sink in the bathroom wouldn't come on and neither would the patio lights outside or the solar lights lining the path. The kitchen pots and pans were well overdue for an update as was the dinner set. No serving dishes at all. No contemporary glassware to enjoy a wine with after a day out hiking. Breakfast provisions were included in the price - weetbix, cereal or vegemite toast - not very inspiring. Coffee was cheap & nasty - no Nespresso here - lucky we brought ours from home.
There was a burn mark in the coffee table and the surface of the kitchen table also was worn out.
1990's magazines to read in the lounge....... All felt a bit un-loved. It really has the potential to be great but it really could do with some luxury touches.... even cushions on the couch would be a good start. There was no TV, but that was great. No WIFI either and would have been great. I think they need to reduce the price or UPDATE for a bit more luxury.

Room Tip: Retreat no 1 has a magnificent tree to look at out of the floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieGypsy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
There are three Ridgetop Retreats approximately 20 metres apart. They have been designed and positioned in such a way so as to maximise privacy in a natural setting. The Ridgetop Retreats have been awarded the Royal Australian Institute of Architects Award for design excellence. Expresso coffee and adequate toilet paper are of course standard provisions and this would have been an oversight by a staff member for which we apologize. When considering their design, unique location and overall presentation we believe the Ridgetop Retreats represent good value given that all linen, continental breakfast provisions and a Park Entry Pass are included in the tariff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delamere
10.6 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
334 reviews
21.6 mi away
Seascape Retreat
Seascape Retreat
#4 of 11 in Victor Harbor
38 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Morella Farm B&B
Morella Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Cape Jervis
10 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lush Pastures
Lush Pastures
#1 of 1 in Bald Hills
93 reviews
11.2 mi away
Corinium Roman Villa
Corinium Roman Villa
#1 of 1 in Yankalilla
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Ocean Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Ocean Retreats

Property: Southern Ocean Retreats
Address: Tapanappa Road | Deep Creek Conservation Park, Delamere, South Australia 5204, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Delamere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Delamere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Ocean Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 3 stylish architecturally designed retreats located in amongst the stringybark forest. Each retreat is fully self-contained and has 2 bedrooms accommodating up to 4 people. Large expanses of glass enable you to enjoy the nearby native flora and fauna ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing