We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast for a Reasonable Price”
Review of The Royal Diner

The Royal Diner
Ranked #95 of 199 Restaurants in Royal Oak
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast for a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The perfect little diner. Small, nothing fancy, but tidy and accommodating with delicious, cheap breakfast food and attentive service. My mom and I came here for breakfast on a weekday in July 2014. Breakfast for two, plus two extra sides and two coffees, was $18.

We got the sweet cream pancakes with scrambled eggs and "Pete's french toast" with bacon. The french toast had a delicious cinnamon sugar coating; I would recommend it over the pancakes, but both were very good. The scrambled eggs were really great- a lot of diners tend to overcook their scrambled eggs, but these were soft and moist. If you prefer drier hard-scrambed eggs, you might want to specify. The bacon was of good quality, thick and tasty.

The service was perhaps the best part. Our server was friendly, attentive, and conversational, but not nosy or over the top, and our food came out quickly.

I definitely recommend this place for a good breakfast for a reasonable price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We come here frequently for breakfast / lunch.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Seats about 50 with 4 counter seats. Open weekends from 7AM to 3PM, (which is nice for the staff). Nina and Val are the servers...they've been there a long time and are very friendly. Same for the week day crew, Lena and Lucy. Closes at 8 PM on week days.
Standard breakfast menu similar to what you would get anywhere else...but the hashed browns are the best I have ever tasted. I think they cook them in butter. And you get such a large portion, I always ask for a half order.
I hate salads, but my wife makes me eat them because they are supposed to be good for you? And this restaurant has a Butcher Block salad which is excellent. It is made with generous portions of real ham and turkey, (not lunch meat), cheese, a hard boiled egg and pita bread. The salad is huge and the restaurant will let us split an order with no additional charge. Cost $10.00 for the salad plus coffee, tax and tip.

Old TOm

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I just had a phenomenal homestyle meal at this little quaint diner.
The service was so friendly that they make you feel like you've been a long time friend coming there.
The coffee is hot the food is great and the service will keep you coming back. I really recommend this to all my trip advisor buddies out there.

Helpful?
Thank eksploruesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greek salads - perfection!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you enjoy a family run restaurant with fresh food you will like this one. Breakfast and lunch at a reasonable price. The greek salad and "pink" dressing is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great little diner - worth the stop”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had the chance to eat here for the first time after passing this place for year. We are glad we stopped. We stopped in on a Sunday late morning for breakfast/lunch and were happy we did. Reasonable prices and large portions. The food was very fresh and served with a smile. I also notices that the workers here moved... did not stand around and kept busy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToddintheRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Diner also viewed

 
Royal Oak, MI
 

Been to The Royal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing