We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, but slow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of What Crepe

What Crepe
Ranked #4 of 7 Dessert in Royal Oak
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, but slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved the crepes here, but we had a long awkward wait to be seated. There were quite a few tables open, and we only had 2 people, yet we had to wait a while to be seated. There were only 2 waiters who also had the responsibilty of seating people. They whizzed past us several times before we finally got to a table.

Other than that, it was great. I had the "What Chocolate Eclair", which was delicious! Our waittress was very welcoming to explain the menu and the options. There are also vegan and gluten free options. I'd say the price is a bit high for crepes though. Nice French sort of atmosphere in this small restaurant, with a bit of dining space outside. Overall it was very delicious and a romantic setting, but make sure you're not in too much of a rush, I'd suggest that they hire a hostess so that the waiters aren't bogged down with greeting and seating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have visited this location a couple of times and have had great service. I do have to say I go on the weekdays, and tend to miss the crazy weekend crowds I have read about.

The food is always great and I try something new each time, never being disappointed. I tend to go for the more sweet side of things when it comes to crepes so this time I went with the applelicious. It was like a dessert for brunch. They even cooked my bacon to order.(i like bacon chewy and not crispy) My sister tends to go with the build your own, and they have a plethora of options for fillings.

As for the staff we had a great waiter, she was very friendly and even joked with us.
Overall a good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free Creps available”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place is amazing, because they not only have a wide variety of crep options, but you can get those options in a gluten free crep batter. I was in heaven with my sweet treat!! Highly recommended :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“No Manager on Saturday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I had been here several times before suggesting the restaurant to my daughter and son-in-law. First it took over 90 minutes to be seated when we were told 30-45 min. People were done eating and the staff had no technique (ie free drink, free dessert, coupon) for moving people from 4 person to 2 person tables or getting them out the door. When we were finally seated, my son-in-law ordered a coke which didn't arrive for 15 min. Our orders weren't taken quickly. The food didn't arrive in a reasonable amount of time. We asked the waitress if we could speak with a manager and we were told there wasn't one because the manager was opening a new location. No apology at all, she actually got rather defensive and snippy. We were there for over 3 1/2 hours!!! And the crepes were a bit greasy this time and the place is pricey and the chairs are uncomfortable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillBNovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quaint and eclectic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small cafe set off of Main Street but still within the hustle and bustle of down town Royal Oak. It has a very small store front so if you are not careful you will miss it. However, it is well worth the hunt. The crepes are delicate and light and the filling choices range from the sweet to savory.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank intnltravelplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What Crepe also viewed

 

Been to What Crepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing