We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Muse

Cafe Muse
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 198 Restaurants in Royal Oak
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fourth Street
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stopped in Saturday night about 730pm. To my surprise there were lots of emty tables. We were seat quickly but it took about 15 minutes for anyone to ask us if we wanted drinks or were ready to order. We ordered drinks, which were slow to get to the table and very small cocktail glasses. Our order was taken - Short Ribs, Brussels Sprouts, Rustic Spätzle and the Filet Mignon, Cheddar Grits, Brussels Sprouts, Pan Roasted Tear Drop Tomatoes. It took longer for the drinks to get to the table than the food. The food was good. It was a bit different kind of place but nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baraboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    60
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
577 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Mid-week happy hour evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cafe Muse offers happy hour in the bar from 5-7pm during the week. We sampled their offerings one mid-week evening and were delighted!
I tried the sparkling Prosecco for $4. Draft selections, craft drinks are also on the discounted menu. Some entrees are offered in smaller portions, priced right and very tasty. I tried the smaller size, perfectly grilled filet mignon served on a creamy bed of cheddar grits and grilled vegetables. My companion raved about the pulled pork with fresh cilantro and onion & white cheese served on a round, crusty flat bread. The thick, hot, creamy mushroom bisque was absolutely wonderful! We were encouraged to share the butterscotch pudding for dessert, and were glad we did! The flavors were terrific with whip cream, toffee and a bit of salt! What a great evening!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
489 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“3 Chz grilled Chz with short rib beef - A must have!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This a great gem in the heart of downtown Royal Oak on Washington street.
It recently expanded and can accomodate so many more people than before. You must try their mushroom soup if you like mushrooms, it is delicious. I also love their dinner menu, they have a great short rib beef dinner and the sides change every so often. I have never had a bad lunch, brunch or dinner yet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikaNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
260 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A nice experience, but what did you do to that poor peameal bacon?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our meal was very good, except for one item. Service was very attentive and courteous. The overall experience was nice. Everything about our meal was great, except for the peameal bacon. It is not like any other peameal bacon I have ever had, and that is not a compliment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iliketrdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decided to give Cafe Muse a try for breakfast while I was in town. Everything on the menu looked great, but settled on the eggs and salmon. It was phenomenal. Very nice atmosphere and the service was very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwoods4Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Muse also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing