We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around Just as Fun”
Review of Double JJ Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Double JJ Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Went for a 2 night getaway the last weekend of summer vacation. Had spent a week here 4 years ago. Not much has changed but we still like the "rustic" country feel. Stayed in the Back Forty Cabins. This weekend we travelled with our 10 year old son and brought our 2 nephews and niece to join us.

Pretty much a dusty, dirty place but you don't have to worry about how you dress and the kids always enjoy being dirty.

Only complaint on Friday night when we arrived we purchased tickets for the campire, singing and smores. There was a threatening storm on the way so the whole event was cancelled. It never did rain until hours later so we were sorry the event was cancelled. The kids had fun Saturday morning. The two older boys went on a trail ride with my husband while I walked around the town square with the 2 little ones - checked out the petting zoo, put the kids on pony rides and then we met my husband and boys at the archery range and then the rifle range. For city kids, this place can't be beat! The afternoon got quickly hot so we headed to the outdoor pool. Water was ICE COLD - clearly not heated - but the kids had a blast on the water slide. The pool is very old and in need of repair but it was fine for the afternoon.

That evening we purchased tickets (in advance) for the pig roast, hayride and rodeo. The food was excellent and served indoor due to the heat. The BBQ pulled pork was fabulous, there were hot dogs, cole slaw, corn, potatoes - plenty to choose from and some cobbler for dessert. Drinks were also available and plenty. The guys carving the pig were real nice and we asked to take a photo with the pigs head so they put it on a platter for the kids to hold - sounds sick but it was fun.

The hayride filled up quickly and we heard the rodeo would be REALLY MUDDY from the prior night's rain. We had been there before and knew the kids were allowed into the main corral to chase the baby cows so we were aware they would be muddy. What fun for city kids to run around chasing baby cows and our son was one of the lucky ones to get the ribbon off the tail of a cow! They were muddy up to their knees but I figured it was a once in a lifetime chance. Rodeo was great and well planned. Stayed until it ended and would DEFINITELY recommend NOT PASSING on this evening!

I will comment on the sled dogs though as others have - very sad to see those dogs chained by the neck and pacing back and forth in the hot sun. You can take the dogs for a walk if you like but being a dog owner/lover it was sad to me. My son even was upset with the dogs.

I think the new owners need to put a little money into restoration but it's a great place for families. If you're looking for a Marriott - stay in a Marriott. If you're looking for great country charm - this is the place!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Double JJ Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our extended family of 10 just spent 2 nights in 3 cabins on the Back Fourty. No complaints about the acomodations. They were in a wooded area near a large outdoor swimming pool and giant waterslide. The highlight of the trip was however, the indoor water park with supposedly the highest waterslides in Western Michigan. Each of my 5 grandchildren ages 8-14 insisted on going down the slides in a tube with their 67 year old papa (me). I granted each wish. The hardest part was carrying the tubes to the top of the slides. Going down did not take any effort. The resort also specialises in horseback and trail rides which I left to the kids,This place changed hands in the last year where the former owners could not financilly succeed after they dumped millions into an indoor waterpark without a planned convention center to support it (only the footings were built). which resuled in bankruptcy. Spending only Saturday and Sunday there we did not see any crowds which are necessary to support the restaurants built in various locations across the property. The food was limited and inconsistent. The hambergers in the main builing were good, The Pizza from the same kitchen was excellent. The boiled hot dogs at the outside pool were awful. This place can be the premiere resort for Western Michigan when and if the things they are doing such as modernizing the accomodations and getting more people there during the week take hold.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Trail rides fill up quickly on weekends. Book your rides before you arrive - you have a 2 hour cancellation option. The riding restrictions are not consistent. One piece of literature said "10 years old and under" must be evaluated before riding and another said "uner 10". Also, evaluations are done for all under 18 years if you want to go on a "walk/trot" ride. But if you don't pass the evaluation and are within the 2 hours of cancellation then you forfeit the ride. There is no one place to get all the riding information. We had to read several pieces of literature and talk to other guests to get a complete picture.

If you think you want to do more than just take a walking horse ride and don't have experience then sign up for lessons the first day and immediately request the evaluation. Book your walking ride for the first for day later in the day and all other rides with the expectation your children will qualify for the "walk/trot". If they don't pass the evaluation you would still have time to change your ride reservations.

When the weather is very hot the horses may only be trotted on the earliest ride or not at all.

Most of the staff was friendly but we did encounter a few who were not quite friendly. The most friendly and consistent was the housekeeping staff. Always friendly and smiling. The front desk could have been a little more knowledgeable about the riding requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vv04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our first time here, and if the kids got their way...we'll be back again! All in all there were 4 kids ranging from 2-8 and they had a great time on the back forty. The bikes weren't necessary but we brought them and rode them everytime we went into the village. Great ice cream and gift shop, stunt show, indoor and outdoor pool facilities, free activites and add-on activities. The free kid activities were a blast and stayed on schedule, unlike some other camping facilties we have stayed at recently. The staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and being around the kids. Seemed like at times there could have been larger numbers of staff around, but we never waited very long for anything. The rodeo and pig roast were great! Also, my daughter really enjoyed the Pooch Pals add-on, where you get to adopt a sled dog for the weekend and take home its picture and adoption certificate. We shared a family cabin with another family and it was moderately sized and comfortable for all of us. We kept our expecations at a reasonable level for this part, and were really only at the cabin for bed time and a short rest before dinner. We were originally going to stay at a suite and happy we didn't, as those are away from the back forty shopping area and free activities, but next to the indoor waterpark (probably stay at a suite for a winter trip!). The food on the premises was good, too. Had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We did not stay in the accomodations but participated in a trail ride. Horses are packed in together in a holding pen and lined up in a chute to be 'loaded'. After riders are mounted the horses mill about in a coral to drink (when they are in the holding pen I did not see any water for them). While waiting for the trail ride to begin we were treated to watching guests taking some sled dogs for 'walks' (though it was usually the guests who were being pulled). Those dogs not lucky enough to be walking were chained by their necks without shade or any provisions for their physical of psychological well being evident. If you care at all about animals look elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
5  Thank LaurenceAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your experience while staying at our resort. We strive to make every guest interaction an excellent experience, and I can see that we missed this mark with your stay. Our horses are turned out into spacious pastures each night, with the ones being used for trail rides each day being moved to the barn for the day. I can assure you there is water available for them at all of these locations, and our Equestrian Department works ceaselessly to care for our large herd of horses. Our sled dog teams do receive attention year round, both from our dedicated staff & from resort guests who have the opportunity to interact with and “adopt” the dogs for their stay. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Went with group of 14 ranging in ages from 70 yrs to 2 yrs. Some in the Lofts hotel, the rest of us in the family cabins. Water park inside and out was a blast! Golf was challenging but really nice. The couple restaurants on the property were surprisingly good. Five kids in our group bounced from one activity to the other, waterpark, horseback riding, mechanical bull, video games, "renting" the sled to walk around with for a couple hours was a fun treat for them. Units were clean. The horses were beautiful and well cared for. Staff very knowledgeable, positive and helpful. Frontier town was cute for the younger ones, not there on the weekend when the organized activities really ramp up, though there were plenty smaller venue games etc. going on mid-week. Really walked and drove around, hoping this place is just yet undiscovered, because when folks find out it will be really packed!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Our week stay at the Double JJ Resort was fun filled. The staff is friendly and attentive. When I made the reservations in February with a wonderful woman named Wendy, she actually went out of her way on her day off to pick up and mail us some brochures of the activities in the area! The activites at the Double JJ were so interesting for a family from NY State who had never been to a ranch type facility before. We stayed in the Thoroughbred Suites. They are beautiful, new, and clean. What a great place to stay and the price was very reasonable for the amenities offered. The waterpark is a blast! Our kids could have stayed there the entire visit. There are so many options of things to do. We went for a breakfast hayride to a spot where we had flapjacks on the outdoor griddle, tried our hand at archery, went to the REAL rodeo, ate at the delicious pig roast, swam at the pool at the Back Forty, and made our own s'mores over a camp fire with a wonderful man singing camp fire songs. My husband played golf at the 18 hole course and said it's one of the best he's ever played. From what we learned from some of the staff members, the new owners bought the facility (1,800 acreas worth) only a year ago in bankruptcy. Some of the buildings need some updating and TLC but it should not stop anyone from going. We were told the owners have some great plans, including renovating the buildings that were part of the original ranch back in the 1960's. We hope people will visit when they can! It's such a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
13.6 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
21.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
10.4 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
8.5 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double JJ Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double JJ Resort

Address: 5900 South Water Road, Rothbury, MI 49452 (Formerly Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Double JJ Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. The Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Double JJ Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Resort Michigan/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing