We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know why people are complaining about this place!”
Review of Double JJ Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Double JJ Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Cedar Springs, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I don't know why people are complaining about this place!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am currently at the resort and my family is having a blast! The food has been great, the water park has been 84 degrees and all the slides and play structures have been fully functional, our room in the thoroughbred suites is nice and clean, and the staff has been extremely friendly. I read some very negative reviews of this place prior to coming and was worried about how our stay would be, but now that we are here, I'm glad we came. Yes, things are pricey but that's the way a resort works. Just keep in mind, the negative ones are the people who often speak the loudest. If you have a family, then this is a great destination! We especially enjoyed the snow tubing hill and are looking forward to our sleigh ride tomorrow. We have been to Great Wolf Lodge in the past and enjoyed that too, but we like here better as there is a greater variety of things for the family to do. My only negative has been the stiff beds, but they are par for the course in terms of hotels.

Matt Landry
Cedar Springs, MI

Room Tip: The thoroughbred suites are closest to the tubing hill and waterpark and are pretty modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Howdy Matt! Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor, & we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Double JJ Resort! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back throughout the year so you may enjoy the Double JJ Resort & all of its various activities in every season!
Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    89
    67
    52
    52
See reviews for
260
36
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, Michigan, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had my daughter's 10th birthday party in the water park today and it was a totally fantastic experience. One of her little guest's birthday was also today (which I didn't find out until last night) so without any previous notice Amanda and Cody (I believe that is his name) turned it into a party for two birthday girls, complete with balloons with her name on them and candy and all the extra specials for the birthday girls. Going all out to include her meant so much more than they could know...you see, this little girl has had some recent family crisis. Her father abandoned her and her mother, leaving mom the work full time. Her mother told me that she didn't have the money for much birthday fun, and she had to work today ( her bd) anyway. Amanda and Cody helped her feel like a princess. That was priceless. They waited on us hand and foot and were so absolutely gracious...they made this normally extremely stressful day an absolute pleasure. Thank you all so much and God bless you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Howdy Darlene!
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Double JJ Resort, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences! We do our best to exceed the expectations of each & every guest who stays at the resort, and are always pleased to hear positive feedback, which I will be sure to pass along to our staff! We're glad we could help both birthday girls have a positive & memorable experience!
We look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were looking for a get a-way relaxing weekend. Having gone to the resort in the summer we thought we would give it a try.
We originally booked a room in the Lofts but decided after seeing the pictures to upgrade to the Suites. Good decision for us. There was a walkway that connected the Suites to the water park. The Suites were very spacious and we saved the extra money spent by having a kitchen which we made a quick meal or two. Restruarant food and service was great, great. The best part also was the dog sled ride. Enjoy

Room Tip: Look into the Suites. Worth the extra money if your not on a tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gajor_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

During our stay at Double JJ Ranch we initially were booked in the Lofts Hotel. Although the place is suppose to look rustic, it was downright old and dirty! From the moment we walked in the door I knew we could not lay our heads down and feel comfortable. The room smelled musty and moldy. We were in the room and noticed bugs on the bed and stains on comforter. We couldnt get out fast enough. Kindly the staff upgraded our room to one in the Thoroughbred Suites which was much better. Things were clean, and updated. The water park was fun for the kids but even the towel were disgusting with stains! Many of the accessories such as ping pong table was broken, and even the saddles had note saying do not sit on. What is the purpose of showing kids things all around the resort but in the same breath say do not try it out. I dont plan on returning even if it was FREE!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay at this ranch, definately upgrade to the Thoroughbred Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michiganmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your experience while visiting our resort. We strive to make every guest interaction an excellent experience, and I can see that we missed this mark with your stay. Our resort has gone under many renovations & upgrades over the past years, and will continue to make improvements due to feedback we have received from guests like yourself. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothbury hotels

Grand Haven
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife & I wanted a relaxing getaway & thats what we got ! We stayed in the lofts hotel. Nothing real special, but very comfortable & more than adequate for our needs. My only complaint on the whole weekend would be the t.v. in our room. Being a huge football fan the small, somewhat blurry screen was'nt the best for playoff football viewing. Now for all the positives. The water park was awesome!! The horseback riding was great! We went on some beautiful trails through the woods. We saw a bunch of deer that just stand there, & watch you ride by. The Sundance saloon & steakhouse was very enjoyable. The views of the golf course from the dining room are amazing. The food & service for breakfast & dinner was extremely good.The entire staff that we came in contact with from check in to check out were very friendly & knowledgeable. All in all we had a very memorable weekend And are very much looking forward to returning to the Double JJ with our kids & grandkids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Howdy Ben!
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Double JJ Resort, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences! We do our best to exceed the expectations of each & every guest who stays at the resort, and are always pleased to hear positive feedback, which I will be sure to pass along to our staff!
We look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family and I, made reservations for 1/19/13, as last minute getaway due to a traumatic family event and needed to getaway. (I know its not your business but my daughters dad had hung himself and was found unresponsive and was put on life support, he did survive this tradegy and all I wanted is for my daughter to have fun and getaway from home life for one weekend) So we decided to try JJ. I am truely dissapointed with how the waterpark was run that day. My daughter and my boyfriends son where going down the "bowl" slide and in comes flying two adults on a tube nearly colliding with 2 children. Where is the staffing to control when and how often the next person is to go to the slie?? This could of turned tragic if these 2 Adults did collide with a 10 and 11 year old. My boyfiends son slipped and fell on the bridge that came off from the body slide area because the gripper tape was missing. He ended up with huge welts and scratches down his side. Half of the sprayers didnt work, we waited for ever to get a dual tube and he waterpark was not very busy. Then to top it off when we went to breakfast in the morning it was not warm at all. Our eggs and pancakes where cold. Not only did I spend $223 for a room but 3 hour drive in each direction for this!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 854MichelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your experience while visiting our resort. We strive to make every guest interaction an excellent experience, and I can see that we missed this mark with your stay. Our resort has gone under many renovations & upgrades over the past years, and will continue to make improvements due to feedback we have received from guests like yourself. We have made sure to address the safety issues you brought up with our waterpark staff. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in the Lofts hotel. The room was as expected for the least inexpensive room. The room was clean except for a few minor issues. Stayed last weekend so it was very cold out. Our heater did not heat the room real warm. Knowing this is the older building it didn't bother me as we keep our home cool. I also noticed some lint in the corners and edges of the wall. I also know maids are allowed so many minutes to clean each room. Which I don't wipe my wall baseboards every time I vacuum. So again really not a big deal. There was one spot on wall in the bathroom area where the paint was was starting to peel from the humidity from shower. With all that being said we are commom people just looking for a nice place to stay and it meet our expectations. The water park was nice and clean. I noticed a few things in kiddie area that needed repair. The food was as expected. I wouldn't consider it too expensive compared to other places in this class of entertainment. We were very pleased with the items we ate. I'm a very good cook and was pleasantly suprised how nice breakfast was. We went without children. We did check out alot of the activities for the kids. They were very cute and would be great for kids. Our next trip we will be taking our son who mentally is about 7 and I feel he would have a great time and enjoy all of them. I had very friendly staff. Some more knowledgeable that others. The girl in the arts and craft room was great and informative. Also very kid friendly and cheerful. She appeared as she enjoyed her job. Water park lifeguards probably could use some people skills that a older person may have when working with the sevice industry. Overall I would recommend to anyone. We took the shuttle to the back 40 to look at cabins. When we come back we will stay in a cabin which are pet friendly so our dogs can go with us. The shuttle takes you all over the resort. The back 40 is approx. 2 miles from the waterpark so it is very spread out. The summer rodeo is also close to the back 40 and away from the waterpark. We visited the arcade and it was in comparison to other resorts of this type, A few broken machines. While there on sunday morning there was a repair man in fixing machines. A couple times I had to get the attendant to get help with a game that was working correctly. Over all if you have visited this type of resorts in the past I don't think you would be disappointed. We are big kids and enjoy theme park getaways. I wouldn't consider it disney standards but in line with other resorts of this kind. One other thing I ofrgot is the room we stayed in had really comfy beds. Firm but with a pillowtop. Great back support.

Room Tip: The suites would be a benfit as they have more ammenties if you prefer this kind of thing. If you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krissywmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Howdy Krissy!
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Double JJ Resort, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences! We do our best to exceed the expectations of each & every guest who stays at the resort, and are always pleased to hear positive feedback, which I will be sure to pass along to our staff!
We look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
21.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.5 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
243 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
416 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double JJ Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double JJ Resort

Property: Double JJ Resort
Address: 5900 South Water Road, Rothbury, MI 49452 (Formerly Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Double JJ Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. Combined with resort activities such as summer rodeos, outdoor sports, and waterparks, the Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Double JJ Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Resort Michigan/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing