We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great get away!”
Review of Double JJ Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Double JJ Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family and I have gone to the Double JJ many times and I am never disappointed. We were there this weekend for the Yee-Haw for fall and the Wicked Ranch, my son never forgetting the water park either! All different types of lodging to choose, from rustic (which still has all the amendities we are custom to) to all of the luxary you would need. We took a trail ride on the horses through the woods, it was beautiful. We ate right on the property, they have many places to eat. Food was good and plenty of it. So overall we had a blast and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 388 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We and another family shared a log home for the weekend during Yee Haw for fall. It truly was fun for the entire family. We had kids ranging from 2 to 12 and there was plenty to do regardless of age. The older kids enjoyed horseback riding and all aspects of the “Wicked” ranch and water park. The younger kids had fun playing games, painting pumpkins, petting farm, pony rides, and the water park as well. The log home was very clean and absolutely beautiful. Plenty of room for two families. I would recommend this resort to anyone. I thought the prices were comparable to other indoor water park places, but when we got there and I experienced everything we got in our package, it was very better than I had expected and I realized it is a really good deal! I hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: I think any log home or family cabin is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We decided to make an annual fall weekend after our fantastic stay at Double JJ Resort. Three families with 7 kids ages 1-12 stayed busy with all the activities all weekend long. Between Yee Haw for Fall Festivities, all 3 Wicked Ranch attractions, trailrides with the amazing views of the trees changing colors throughout the trails, the dad's managed to pretend they knew how to golf by playing 18 holes, and of course the indoor waterpark was a hit with the kiddos. We had great pizza at the waterpark restaurant Friday evening & Saturday we had a wonderful dinner at Sundance Steakhouse, even the little ones enjoyed their meals at the steakhouse which I was a little worried about. Our only issues that we ran into were that we weren't sure where evaluations were being held, which wasn't a big deal since the kids that were riding were plan enough to ride without evaluations, I just wanted to be sure they would be alright on a horse. I wasn't impressed with the pedal cart track & the lack of assistance in unlocking them.

My biggest complaint would be that I needed a vacation after our vacation at the ranch!

Thanks Double JJ for providing us with a memorable weekend..... count us in for next year, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had an awesome "Annie Oakley" suite at Double JJ this summer. We have an 8 year old, and a 3 year old. Both had plenty to do the whole time. Younger one had pony rides, older one had riding lessons and a trail ride with mom. Riflery and archery for the older one and mom. Wonderful indoor waterpark for all. Accommodations and shuttle service were impeccable. Summer staff seemed a little less than knowledgeable at times, but if we asked enough people, we eventually got the right answers. The whole family can't wait to go back again.

Thank kdukhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are longtime Double JJ guests who returned for the first time in five years for the adults-only Homecoming Week Sept. 9-16. Excellent program designed by Jason included horseback riding, golf, riding competitions, a Halloween Party at the ranch, and other social events, while staying in a comfortable modern cabin at the Back Forty. We had a wonderful time with many friendly people and cannot wait to return next year for Homecoming 2013!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XYZ2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

my family of eight stayed in the thoroughbred suites acroos from . the waterpark. It was alot of fun for kids and the adults in our party. It was decent sized waterpark with lazy river and large jacuzzi that is half indoors and half out. good time overall!

Thank sonya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We CAMPED at the Double JJ the last week of August. First, the staff at the ranch was VERY friendly and made the activities like horseback riding, archery and shooting fun for our boys. We even enjoyed the indoor waterpark the night it poured. But you must get the time schedule and follow it...example, boat rental is only from 7-8:30 am, archery only 4 - 5pm.
However, the overall facilities really need to be cleaned up. The pools need to be vacuumed sometime this summer and the shower's at the waterpark thoroughly cleaned. The campground had no grass at all and was full of trash. There is no registration, so just look for the guy in the golf cart. For some reason they chose to put the tents as far from the bathhouse as possible, and right on top of each other, even when the park is empty. There was no hot water in the showers so you had to go shower at the pool, but there were no lights there (even after dozens of calls to replace the lights) you still needed a flashlight to take a shower. Going back will be a rough sell ... but for some reason it has so much to offer and such a friendly staff I want it to get better so we can go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HockeyMom_in_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
8.5 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
259 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
460 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Harrington Inn
The Harrington Inn
#1 of 1 in Fremont
269 reviews
24.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
221 reviews
19.7 mi away
Days Inn Suites
Days Inn Suites
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double JJ Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double JJ Resort

Address: 5900 South Water Road, Rothbury, MI 49452-7939 (Formerly Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: $92 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Double JJ Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. The Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Double JJ Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Resort Michigan/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing