We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buisness”
Review of Double JJ Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Double JJ Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Middleville, Michigan, USA
1 review
“buisness”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay,, bring or use your ownhorses,,
friendly and Clean
Park was good..
horse were happy
Service was friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    89
    67
    52
    52
See reviews for
260
36
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just returned from what was supposed to be a 3 night stay. We left after the 2nd night. We have stayed at Double JJ in the family cabins several times before (prior to the change in ownership). There is definitely a huge difference now, and not for the better. When we walked into our cabin there was a horrible smell. We opened the windows & turned on the ceiling fan to air things out. The lamp in our bedroom was broken & wouldn"t light & since it was very dark in the room we called someone to ask if it could be exchanged for another lamp. We were told "No". The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and the one pillow they give you is flat as a pancake and offers no comfort. We requested 2 extra pillows and were told "pillows are pre-allocated" and we could not get extras. The issue that sent us packing was the water. My husband started filling the jacuzzi tub in our room and the stench from the water made me gag & run out of the cabin. My daughter got sick while brushing her teeth. My son started vomiting & got diarreah after drinking some of the water. We couldn't bathe or shower because of the awful smell. My husband called the desk & we were told that everyone in our circle of cabins had complained about the water but they couldn't do anything for us. They would not refund any of our money and would not move us to other accomodations. Customer service is not a priority at Double JJ and we will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljk4dkfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothbury hotels

Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here with our 11 year old son and niece. They had a blast and were never bored with all of the activites they had to offer. I give a lot of credit to the young people working at these ranches - they were great with the kids. However, as far as the cabin and waterpark go, the mattress in our cabin was so hard and uncomfortable, my husband and I were barely able to sleep. My whole body ached the next day. When I asked the next morning if they had another cabin with a better mattress, I was quickly told "NO, they're all the same!" I was offered a few blankets with long strands of hair on them instead to try to make the bed softer. I had to purchase an air mattress and sheets and sleep on the floor to get any kind of sleep for the rest of our stay. I talked with another visitor our last day and she said they're caing had a soft mattress, so it seems the person at the front desk didn't want to be bothered with switching us to a different cabin. The waterpark was not the cleanest and the hot tubs were about a foot low on water. You could see the scum line in the hot tubs which wasn't very nice! The food is mostly fried and overcooked, and like the other reviews say, you have to drive at least 30 minutes to even find a decent pizza place. No real restaurants to speak of other that what the resort offers. While I was happy the kids had fun, my husband and I would never think of going back. I'm sure this review will get the resorts standard form reply...blah, blah, blah instead of actually doing anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Back Forty cabin. First impression: cute cabin from outside. Inside: terrible. Cabin smelled, there was a huge stain on the floor, our bedroom door had a hole in it from someone punching it. The stairs going up to the beds were so narrow and steep we had to walk down them sideways. Our 4yr old fell down them and bruised her arms up. Our "king" bed was really 2 beds pushed together. Jacuzzi tub in bedroom smelled, bathroom smelled. Worst part: We went into a candy store there and my 4 yr old picked up a hot wood burning craft tool that was left out on a table---right next to tables of candy---right at child height. She got 1st and 2nd degree burns on her hand. Spent 2 hrs in Er and all they clould say was "were sorry she touched that" Really??? The only good part were the ranchers---they were excellent with the kids. Although now after readiong the "lice rodeo" review im sitting here worried that were gonna get lice---we were there at the same time. Awful...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alissa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your experience while visiting our resort. We strive to make every guest interaction an excellent experience, and I can see that we missed this mark with your stay. We have re-evaluated some of our operating policies in the areas you mentioned, and have made changes to our safety procedures to help avoid issues such as this in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed 3 times and love it everytime. I would recommend staying at the Thoroughbred Suites. I haven't stayed at any of the other locations but the Thoroughbred Suites are great! Food is very average bring groceries the suites have a kitchen. The waterpark is really nice and fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeeltheZeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 7 nights at Double JJ. There was so much for us to do and because of the shuttle bus, never had to leave the ranch. We have 3 very active boys 11, 11 and 10 and they always had something to do(horse rides,riding lessons, crafts ,wild west shows, games, swimming, bike riding, rodeo ,petting zoo,indoor water park,playground,tennis, tether ball, ping pong, etc) even when it was raining . The staff was always helpful and smiling. The best part was that is was SO AFFORDABLE. We even spent less than our budget! The rodeo and pig roast is a must! This is the first vacation the kids have asked to go back to!!!!

Room Tip: we chose to camp, the sites were large, the bath house was very conveniently located and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We met 25 friends there from different cities. We all came home scratching our heads. Every adult and child got lice. From the pool, the mandatory (public) horse riding helmets or the rooms. Who knows but one things for sure. Roping them micro steers sure ain't easy. We have all gutted our homes and shampooed with poison to rid ourselves of JJ ranches parting gift. They never even returned my phone message informing them of the issue.

How bout dat?

Have been going there for years but the steady decline in service, cleanliness and now this?

Never again parners...never again.

Sad actually...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkisTheDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleJJResort, Public Relations Manager at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your experience while visiting our resort. We strive to make every guest interaction an excellent experience, and I can see that we missed this mark with your stay. Our resort has gone under many renovations & upgrades over the past three years, and will continue to make improvements due to feedback we have received from guests like yourself. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
21.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.5 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
243 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
416 reviews
21.7 mi away
No photo provided
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double JJ Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double JJ Resort

Property: Double JJ Resort
Address: 5900 South Water Road, Rothbury, MI 49452 (Formerly Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Double JJ Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. Combined with resort activities such as summer rodeos, outdoor sports, and waterparks, the Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Double JJ Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Resort Michigan/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing