We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but disappointing service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roscommon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Checked in to attractive, clean room for two night stay including two mornings of golf at Forest Dunes. The recently opened lodge smelled new and clean, however we had quite a few ants crawling on the nightstand and bathroom floor. The following day, I expected that the room would be cleaned, beds made and ants cleared. At 8am we left the room for a round of golf, returning at 2pm only to find that our beds had not been made and our wet towels still on the floor of the bathroom. I informed the lodge manager that our room had not been made up but that we were leaving for a brief excursion at 3p, requesting that our room be cleaned and new towels provided. When we returned to our room around 9pm, our room still had not been cleaned although additional towels were provided, while leaving the wet towels on the floor of the bathroom and the beds unmade. We were very disappointed by the service in this lodge and would probably not consider returning.
The golf course was beautifully maintained and challenging. I would give the golf course 4.5 stars and wish I could do the same for the lodge and restaurant.
Additionally, the servers in Sangomores Restaurant were clueless about the content or appearance of the entres. The breakfast buffet must be a joke as the bagels were laid out in sandwich bags and the few other choices were very sparse.
I have given other reviews to Tripadvisor and am sorry to provide this first mediocre rating to a hotel resort.

Room Tip: There isn't much to do in and around Roscommon unless you want to drive 1.5 hrs to Traverse City...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, Public Relations Manager at Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for visiting Forest Dunes and taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor.

We apologize that your experience did not meet your or our expectations. Forest Dunes prides itself on superior customer service and it is obvious that we had a breakdown in our procedures.

It is our standard policy to clean Lake AuSable Lodge rooms daily while making beds and changing towels. We will investigate why this protocol was not completed and make improvements to the system. We also will address the ants issue as well.

In regard to the breakfast buffet, our standard daily breakfast buffet includes the following items: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast or breakfast sandwiches, American fries, bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, granola, and assorted juices. If we have low occupancy for our lodging, we offer a limited breakfast menu with three entrée options. The bagels, muffins, etc., are individually bagged to maintain freshness and convenience for people to take on the course if they are running late for their tee time.

We will be contacting you directly later this week as we would like some clarification on the comment regarding the servers.

We were glad to hear that you found the course challenging and enjoyable.

We do not consider Forest Dunes a “resort”. It is true we are a remote location, which caters to 90 percent of our clientele. Our primary attraction is our world-class golf course that has been consistently ranked one of the top 25 public courses in the country by several nationally respected golf publications.

In addition to the course, we offer massages and golf instruction on site. The nearby AuSable River offers blue-ribbon trout fishing, canoeing and kayaking, and the adjacent Mason Tract and Huron National Forest offer hiking and biking trails, along with bird-watching opportunities for the endangered Kirtland Warbler. Higgins Lake is just 12 miles from our property and offers 9,900 acres of clear water for recreation and fishing, and two state parks that provide public boat launches and camping.

These activities may not appeal to all of our visitors, but they provide a sample of what our area has to offer. If you are looking for shopping malls, amusement attractions and a wide range of dining options, you will need to travel about an hour and a half to Traverse City or Mount Pleasant.

Once again, we thank you for your honesty and feedback and we will be following up directly with you soon.

Sincerely,
Don Helinski
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have found the place to go for everything you want in a vacation!!
Great golf , phenomenal service
And great food and accommodation
Will not disappoint
My group has been to every course that was rated in golf digest, including Arcadia wich was our favorite , but the shop staff , ranger , manager really ruin the expierance. We now will be coming to FD. From now on as they do it right!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencertaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, Public Relations Manager at Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to having your group back again soon.

Sincerely,
Don Helinski
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The newly built lodge is a great addition to the Forest Dunes Golf Course. The Lodge is situated right next to the clubhouse. We stayed at a lower floor 2 queen standard room. The accommodations were very nice and well appointed. The bathroom had a very large walk-in shower. The staff was welcoming and super friendly. One note, all the door closures are set to make the doors very hard to open. Other than that, I would definitely suggest taking advantage of the Lake AuSable lodge when playing Forest Dunes. The inclusion of the breakfast buffest is a nice added benefit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, Public Relations Manager at Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your Forest Dunes experience.

Thank you for the feedback on the doors, we will work on adjusting the tension.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Don Helinski
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed a night in the new lodge in one of the two 2 bedroom suites.

Tammy was awesome getting the reservation set up for us a few weeks ago and then getting us checked in when we arrived. Top notch service.

The suites are perfect for a foursome with a full bath with a giant walk-in shower for each bedroom. It had all the amenities you needed... coffee, big TV and TV in each bedroom, dishwasher, dishes, glasses, the whole nine yards.

Fire pit on the patio of the clubhouse was perfect for hanging out and having drinks and relaxing.

They kept our clubs overnight right on the carts in their cart area so no hassles the next morning to get ready to play. Buffet breakfast included as well.

With the course being a bit out of the way from the highway the lodge is a great addition to make it more of a destination course.

Highly recommend it as well as the golf course, top shelf all the way around.

Picture is from the balcony of the suite which overlooks 9 and 18 and only 30 yds from the 1st tee.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mexico_man2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, Public Relations Manager at Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for the great picture and taking the time to submit a review.

The suites have been very popular and everyone who has stayed in one has been raving about how nice they are. They are great for buddy trips!

It sounds like you had a great experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Don Helinski
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The golf course was awesome! The brand new lodge was very nice. Service in the pro shop and the restaurant was outstanding. My wife and I enjoyed the food and the golf for 3 days. Also, worked in a 1st ever fly fishing trip nearby,it was beautiful! Forest Dunes is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, Public Relations Manager at Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Mr. and Mrs. Young,
It was a pleasure to host the two of you in the Lake AuSable Lodge this past week all the way from Louisiana, and a big thank you for being our first review on TripAdvisor! We hosted a state-wide syndicated radio show, Michigan Golf Live, on Saturday morning from our clubhouse and we had our owner on the phone from Arkansas as part of the show. We passed along your "Go Tigers!" message to him. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
385 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
22.0 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 9 in Grayling
488 reviews
21.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake AuSable Lodge at Forest Dunes Golf Club

Address: 6376 Forest Dunes Dr, Roscommon, MI 48653-9073
Location: United States > Michigan > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2013, the Lake AuSable Lodge features 12 standard rooms and a pair of two-bedroom suites that are just 35 yards from the first tee at Forest Dunes Golf Club. Our Stay & Play Packages include lodging, golf and breakfast. We also offer six cottages ranging from two bedroom to four bedroom configurations. Forest Dunes is ranked among the nation's top 25 public golf courses by Golf Digest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing