We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep park and fly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice, we asked to be on the 1st floor with a fridge and microwave which we received. The staff was very courteous and friendly checking in and out. Bonnie at the bar was awesome! Very good rate for the park and fly. We were given parking vouchers for the days we would be needing for parking. All in all it was a very good deal for us!

Room Tip: We asked to be on the first floor and we received. Very convenient.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport! We are also pleased to know that our staff was courteous and friendly! We hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 397 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here because it's right next to the Park-n-Fly which is included in the package deal. OK room, we checked out the lounge and the Breakfast which is just cold items unless you want to pay $5.95 extra for the hot stuff. Service was good and the room was old but comfortable. You have to check out and then drive across the street to park your car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solprovider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay here at the Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! We hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Yes, this hotel is a bit dated, but doesn't feel neglected by any means. The room was fine, clean and quite, everything was working, including fairly quite heater. The staff was friendly, the lobby and breakfast area were cozy and comfortable. Fresh smell, a lot of natural light in common areas, I liked fast Internet as well. It's also perfectly located - just far enough from the highway to be quite.

I didn't give 5 stars due to a couple issues:

1. I found this hotel on Priceline but the lady at the lobby couldn't give me that price, so I had to spend a few minutes to pay for the room online. It's not a big deal, but since I presented the online price, would be nice if they could just match the price at the lobby - a lot of hotels do that and it saves time. However, she was very polite, let me check out the room and patiently waited for my payment.
2. The breakfast time ends at 10 am and when we came down around 9:30 am, they were out of coffee and donuts and their advertise "make your own waffle" thing didn't go well because the waffle batter was clogged and going "really really slow". There was some other food still left and we didn't go out hungry, but that was just not professional.

So yes, a bit not perfect, but we had great rest and liked the place.

Overall, this hotel is a great value, I would stay there again, no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Clarion Hotel. We would like to apologize that, at check in we did not match the price, but had to go through booking it online again. We are glad to hear that the front desk staff were patient and that overall the staff were friendly! I do however would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team here at the Clarion that at 9:30 there was no coffee nor donuts, we do not give that kind of service to our guests and again I would like to apologize for that. We hope to see you in the near future to ensure that you will receive the friendly service once again as well as having breakfast here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have to say I was surprised with this place after all the mixed reviews. The hotel is a little dated but overall this place isn't too bad, especially for the price.

We stayed one night prior to a trip out of Detroit. My one and only big complaint was check in. The counter was backed up, and this short, blond haired lady, who I think was the manager came to help out and she turned out to be far from friendly. She seemed irritated she had to help out, and just my luck she checked me in. She just handed me my room key and said there you go. I'm like "where's my room, how do I get there, what time is breakfast, ect, ect." The other lady at the counter appeared to be much more friendly with her guests.

Room was comfortable, very quiet, bed was above average, had a large flat screen tv. Bathroom was kind of weird, sink area and toilet sat lower than normal, and the shower curtain needed adjusting, it wouldn't close all the way, and thus water gets all over the floor.

Hotel also had a nice little bar, the bartender was super nice, and service here was great. So my service overall rating for the hotel is 3 stars: 5 stars for the bartender and 1 star for the lady who us in.

I would stay here again preflight. Like I said, it's cheap and it wasn't that bad at all, just a little dated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starchild101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and providing us with your feedback on your stay here at the Clarion Hotel. We just want to sincerely apologize for the service that your received at check-in. We have taken the necessary measures to ensure that the kind of service you received at check-in will not happen again! Our front desk staff will continue to give great customer service.

We hope to see you in the near future to provide you with customer service that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We tried to reserve a room for the park, sleep, fly option. The Choice Hotel's reservation website booked us for check-in on the current day in September, not the day that we were looking to stay in November. This was clearly evident by our specified request to park from November 1-8. After being billed a month too early, we noticed the mistake and called to fix the problem. Not only did the manager not allow us to switch our room date for the stay, but he would not allow us to park on the specified dates, either- which we had already paid for! He then suggested that we re-book the room with his hotel at a discounted rate- trying to pass it off as a great deal.

Unlike other reviews, I have no complaints about the cleanliness or sanitation of the rooms, but the customer service and courtesy is severely lacking. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. I would like to apologize for the customer service you recieved here at the Clarion Hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We like the clarion because it is easy to get transportation to and from the airport. This time it was even easier than ever. We always travel from Windsor Holiday inn Express by robert q airbus. They have an arrangement with the hotel that we can Leave our car in Windsor for an extended vacation free of charge. This time the ROBERT Q driver kindly dropped us off at the clarion so there was no need to wait at the airport for pickup.

Room was comfortable as usual. Only one problem. We had reserved our room on booking.com and somehow our request for a ground floor room got lost so we had to carry our heavy bags up the stairs.

We have been told an elevator is in the works which will be great when it happens.

Otherwise we were pleased with everything else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckymerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey! We are please to know that your stay here was comfortable! All the departements join me in apologizing that your request for a ground floor room was not relayed! Yes an elevator is in the works and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed overnight to catch an early flight. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi was good. Bed was comfy. Room was quiet. Decent free breakfast bar and for $6 extra a self serve hot foods. Nice touch to have the options. Shuttle to airport terminal. No elevator for 2nd floor.
Not a fancy place and a little worn but gives a good sleep for a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete our survey. We are pleased in knowing that your stay here at the Clarion Hotel was quiet, comfortable and that the hot breakfast exceeded your expectations.
We are currently in the process of putting together plans to install an elevator. We hope to be at your service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.4 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel in Romulus, Michigan; recently renovated with a New Lobby, a New Elevator, All New Guest Rooms, a world class restaurant and bar, and a New Pool. Conveniently located just 2 minutes from DTW airport. Other amenities include a complementary 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport, complementary wireless internet, microwaves and refrigerators in room, and a complementary breakfast included. We welcome you to come and experience the Clarion Hotel's commitment to your complete satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Romulus
Clarion Detroit Metro Airport
Clarion Romulus
Romulus Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing