We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to be kidding me..Sounds like a lawsuit to me!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
michigan
1 review
“You have got to be kidding me..Sounds like a lawsuit to me!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Obviously the MALE employees at this establishment have not been through a harassment classes. After seeing a male employee verbally abuse a female employee today I decided right then I will NEVER stay at another Clarion hotel or any hotel associate with the same corporation.

I did give the young lady the name of a good attorney and STRONGLY suggested she call them.

I was appalled at the way she was spoke to and treated.

Shameful!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherokeechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    117
    82
    52
    59
See reviews for
81
117
62
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I'm a pilot and my airline has a contract with this hotel, so I stay here quite often. I was surprised by all the negative sentiment about this place, I stay at ALOT of hotels and this place is at least average, if not above, especially for the price.

For me, the best part of this hotel is the cleaning crew. If you notice in the morning, they leave the doors open of all the rooms that people have checked out of while they clean them. They actually change the sheets of every room, every night, and you can see them doing it. This sounds like something for granted, but many dubious hotels in this class recycle sheets and pillows. It's not a big secret.

The rooms are furnished better than an average 2* hotel. Bed is good, 25" TV has a good selection of stations..

Wifi internet is cheap and always works, and fast.

Free breakfast is quite good, and goes until 10am (rare).

The gals at the front desk have always been friendly, even at odd hours of the day or night.

Bad -
No elivators if you get a room on the second floor.

The hallways have an odd mildew/take-out food/smoke smell. Very 1980's smell and overall feel.

Whoever designed the floor plan must have been on LSD, the place is a total maze, and hard to get around sometimes.

Overall this place is fine, especially if you can get a good rate.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — old feel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank altimaklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corunna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as a park n' fly. It was extremely easy to find....we were coming from Canada. People were extremely friendly and helpful....nothing but GREAT things to say about the pleasant and hard-working staff! Check-in went quickly and smoothly....our room was clean and comfortable. The shuttle to the airport at 6am was right on schedule and the driver was helpful with our luggage. On our return home, everything went just as smoothly....we called the hotel to arrange for the shuttle when we arrived back at the airport, and by the time we got our luggage, the shuttle was there waiting for us right out front!!! It was wonderful!! Not one minute of waiting! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for this type of stay. One additional comment: There was a waitress working the evening we stayed, and she appeared to be working by herself and could have used some help. Even though she was very busy, she was so very pleasant and so VERY hard-working! She did everything she could to keep us happy....THANK YOU!!

  • Liked — affordable, efficient park n fly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorunnaFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

NWA "gave" us "free" accomodations after screwing up our flight connection . I should have slept at the airport. Check in was long, the clerk was trying to get us in quickly but the phone kept ringing and kept her from assistng us.
Nasty and dirty, the hotel smelled of smoke throughout--the bar is right in the center of the hotel and you have to walk through the bar area to get to the rooms--and loud guests were arriving at all hours (not much sound proofing between rooms or the corridors). Shady looking guys hanging around and wandering the corridors did not make us feel safe.
The shower smelled like backed up sewage so we skipped the shower and washed at the sink. Like previous travelers have noted, the heat in the room was either on full blast or you had to unplug the unit to get it to turn off. TV remote didn't work either.
Cafe closed at 1100 PM so we ordered a pizza from a local place that accepted airline vouchers. It was OK but took over an hour to be delivered.
Be sure to get to down to the shuttle at least an hour earlier than you THINK you need to. If there are a lot of air crew you will not get on the shuttle.
This hotel was the "perfect" match to a terrible day of travel.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Just about everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mnmusn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The carpet was FILTHY and it appeared that no one swept any closer than 1 foot away from the wall. Dust and dirt piled up around all of the baseboards. The grout in the bathroom was brown and moldy. The bed was sagging on the one side, causing my husband to constantly roll towards the edge. The bedspread needed to be burned. Do yourself a favor and pay the extra money to stay someplace clean and reputable. We both had to shower first thing in the morning to get the hotel's scum off of us. This is not an exaggeration. I felt "itchy" the next morning.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LovingLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
904 reviews
486 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 956 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This seems to be Northwest's "official" misconnect hotel. If you can get the airline to pick up the tab, they pay the Clarion $39 and you stay for free.

Under such circumstances, you'll probably be happy to have a bed for the night. I know I was. But if I had a chance to choose my hotel, I'd probably go a bit more upscale.

Why? A common problem with "budget" hotels -- their clientele. On the Monday night I was stuck there, groups of young adults congregated throughout the hotel, obviously in party mode. Indeed, on the ground floor, I detected the distinct aroma of marijuana wafting through the hallway. When I got to my room, there was a party next door. It took 2 calls to the front desk to get the music turned down.

Not sure if this clientele is a common problem here, or whether it was my "lucky" night. Otherwise, the hotel is fine for its class. Rooms dated but adequate. Decent looking pool. Free continental breakfast better than what I would expect (plenty of selection, at least first thing in the morning). Airport shuttle ran every 20 minutes, and was prompt and courteous. You could do worse. And if there's no party next door to you, you might actually be reasonably satisfied if you stay there for free courtesy of Northwest. Otherwise, the hotel isn't worth much more than the $39 Northwest is paying.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Terrible hotel, terrible service! Would not stay again! Would not recommend to others! Smokey smelling throughout first floor due to bar area. Continental breakfast was a joke!!!! Went for breakfast at 0700 they were already out of waffle mix and the toaster had broken earlier and they didn't have a spare. But the breakfast that was an additional $6 was full to the brim. Very rude staff in dining area and at check-out. Beds were also a joke, mattresses were so old springs were coming through and they squeked with every turn. Be warned don't book with this hotel unless all you are looking for is a roof over your head and you don't mind paying an arm and a leg for it!

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — Having to stay there.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paluvsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.4 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel in Romulus, Michigan; recently renovated with a New Lobby, a New Elevator, All New Guest Rooms, a world class restaurant and bar, and a New Pool. Conveniently located just 2 minutes from DTW airport. Other amenities include a complementary 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport, complementary wireless internet, microwaves and refrigerators in room, and a complementary breakfast included. We welcome you to come and experience the Clarion Hotel's commitment to your complete satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Romulus
Clarion Detroit Metro Airport
Clarion Romulus
Romulus Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing