We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme lack of soundproofing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've stayed at several park and fly hotels and this one didn't measure up whatsoever in terms of soundproofing.
We fully expect to hear airplanes due to the hotel's vicinity to Metro Airport. However, we didn't expect to hear a great deal of noise, all night long, from the adjoining rooms, hallway, and parking lot. I would have never imagined that a hotel could have such shoddy soundproofing.
The park and fly service was fine and our room was clean. However, because of the soundproofing problem, there's nothing that will draw us back for a repeat stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 406 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

The desk clerk at check in was professional, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very nice. The televisions need updating to flat screens like the Ann Arbor and other choice hotels I have stayed in. We couldn't even plug in our dvd player. Other Clarions and Choice hotels offered free hot breakfasts but this one charged $ 5.95.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondlimousine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the Clarion! I would like to take the opportunity and apologizing for the inconvenience of not having the updated televisions! We are actually getting all plasma TV’s this week, so each room will be updated with the brand new TV! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here after I had a layover flight canceled. Delta routed me here after a canceled flight and the receptionist was very nice and had me checked into a room in under 3 or 4 minutes. After getting some food at the restaurant inside which was much better than the airplane food I was getting. Went upstairs and after a 11 hour flight and 3 more hours on the tarmac I was ready for some sleep. Room was clean as well as the sheets. Slept Well, quiet room. Coffee maker in the room which was good. Free breakfast from Delta at their restaurant for my troubles and a free shuttle to the airport at 15 minute intervals. All in all not a bad stay, I just spent most of my stay there sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia H, Manager at Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your stay here at the Clarion! We are pleased to know that you had a great night’s sleep!! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is good for its price range: a not-so-great continental breakfast was included (with the upgrade to hot breakfast buffet being cheap, 5$ or so) and wifi was included, the room was spacious and clean. The only downsides: (i) the communication with the hotel was not great (I sent them two emails to inquire about something and never received a response) and (ii) the shuttle pick-up from the airport was very slow even after calling them (I only needed to wait 25 minutes ,but others waited 1 hr)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertzimbardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two evenings in the Detroit area, and chose this hotel based on price. It is located very near the Detroit airport, you will hear the planes leaving and landing. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel staff was helpful. There is a nice offering for breakfast, but patrons should be careful as it is made available in the hotel's restaurant, and a hot breakfast buffet that is $5.99 is set up right at the end of the free breakfast offerings. Our stay was very pleasant, and we did not experience any of the issues that others expressed in some of their reviews.

Room Tip: If traveling with lots of luggage, request a first floor room. The hotel has a second floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAboyinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It's so disappointing to pull up to a huge property, walk inside and see a pretty lobby and everything goes down hill from there.
It's not terrible, but its just tired and basic.
Check in was friendly and efficient. And most of the time the staff are pleasant and are just working in a place not very well cares for.. So it's a bonus when staff make up for the disappointment of the place.
There is no elevator and with luggage and bags, the last thing I want to do in carry my flight bags up a stairway.
The rooms are dingy, but clean.
The bed and sheets were fresh and comfortable.
Breakfast was complimentary but nothing special.
The pool was a plus, clean and plenty of chairs. I'd say it was crazy cold... But that just sounds like I'm miserable!
I do try to be fair, but this hotel could be really great.
I'm in hotels three nights a week-it doesn't take much to make guests feel welcomed.
This place just lacks the extra touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njafares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel is close to airport just off main road. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff had light and A/C on when I got to room. Nice touch and welcoming.

However, hotel has no elevator and floorplan is unusual, making you walk around to get to your room.

Continental breakfast was OK but plates for hot breakfast are first in line and give impression that it is included. Could be costly mistake. Staff was friendly but they needed to keep on top of coffee brewing. Cleaning cart blocked me from my table when I went to get butter.

Better hotel than the other, more expensive Choice Hotel (Comfort Inn) - better room and cleaner.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: $69 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel in Romulus, Michigan; recently renovated with a New Lobby, a New Elevator, All New Guest Rooms, a world class restaurant and bar, and a New Pool. Conveniently located just 2 minutes from DTW airport. Other amenities include a complementary 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport, complementary wireless internet, microwaves and refrigerators in room, and a complementary breakfast included. We welcome you to come and experience the Clarion Hotel's commitment to your complete satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Romulus
Clarion Detroit Metro Airport
Clarion Romulus
Romulus Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing