We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff with good sized rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great staff with good sized rooms”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is an airport hotel, meaning close to the airport (about 5 minutes) but some way out of Detroit, and as such it delivers what it promises.

The rooms are clean and spacious with most having a balcony for those who smoke.The beds are a delight to sleep on.

There is a shop of sorts in reception which sells basic supplies and there is a basic restaurant where breakfast and dinner is served. The food supplied is well prepared but don't expect fine dining.

Free wifi is available and there is a free airport shuttle, but you may have to telephone them for a pickup. The shuttle will also ferry you to local restaurants, but again don't expect too much.

There is seating outside in a pleasant garden area.There is also an indoor pool.

The staff are perhaps it's greatest attribute, typical american service, they can't do too much for you.

All in all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CISSPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    104
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
55
43
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved the modern facilities and comfy bed. Room was very clean and they brought a hot breakfast to your table. They have about six ESPNs for for some reason. I signed up for the pay wi-fi before I saw the free one. They provide a filling breakfast, but there is a Bob Evans nearby. We spent the day in Detroit which was maybe 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here last month for a night before an early flight out of DTW. It was everything you can ask for in an airport hotel. It was clean, close to the airport, and the staff was friendly. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel with swift access to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
Level Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Airport hotels are either ok or less than ok and pricey. This hotel is an exception. On a recent trip through Michigan we stayed here on the night of our arrival. We were surprised by the clean appearance throughout. The lobby, hallways, elevator were vey clean. Our room was clean,neat and had a fresh appearance. The attached balcony could use a chair or two. The bed was clean and comfortable with crisp sheets and pillowcases. The bathroom is standard, but very clean with decent towels. The Bistro within had limited hours and was crowded so seati g was difficult. Many restaurants nearby if you drive a few miles. Also a Bob Evans almost next door. Food the ok, not great.
We liked the hotel so much we made a reservation for our return before flying out of Michigan. A different room was equally presentable. We stayed at several Marriott properties during this trip and this was one of the better ones. The staff from the front desk to the housekeeping were courteous and efficient. Highly commendable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank drishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

An older CY, maybe just under 20 yrs., but it's hard to tell. Recently renovated to look virtually new, plus being older, it actually has a court yard - nicely landscaped & accomodating. The court yard seems to retain water & mesquitos were a real problem the 2 times I stayed here, plus the older sliding doors are very hard to open. It's very close to AP & runs a shuttle every 20 minutes on the hour (ex., 9:00, 9:20, 9:40, etc.), and it was PROMPT. The roads are horrible & the shuttle ride is rough - very rough. It goes from hotel to North Terminal to McNamara Terminal in 20 min. 4 computers/printers in lobby to print boarding passes.
Very accomodating staff & a good value at $100 a night. NO hot tub, but pool has adult swim from 10-12 p.m. - but you won't actually swim unless you're a polar bear - indoors, so the sun doesn't heat it & it didn't appear to be heated ....at all. It was useless to me & I returned to my room in a dry bathing suit. Food is limited & pricey. It's pre-cooked & vaccum packed, to re-heat & serve. It wasn't too bad, if you don't mind a $10 burger.
Rooms well appointed, but no microwave. Small tea-bag size coffee maker. Good water pressure. Very limited toiletries. Nice big towels. Adequate a/c outlets. ...and the beds are VERY comfortable - I think they use a foam mattress. Airport noise is minimal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was on day 2 of a baseball trip and was pretty tired getting to the hotel, they checked me in early which was real nice. Room was comfortable and spacious. Nothing super exceptional with the hotel, just a normal airport hotel. Employees were friendly with all i encountered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabeFranchise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here May 13-17. I've stayed at different Marriott Courtyard hotels in several different states, and this is by far the best one. What sets this Courtyard above the rest is the staff. The new Courtyard renovation had already been completed in several others that I stayed in so I was already familiar with the new concept/theme. The staff at this hotel was consistent in providing quality service. I ate most of my meals at the Bistro which were excellent. Although breakfast is not included in the room rate, the prices are very affordable. I enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners such that I had no desire to eat elsewhere. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.1 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus

Property: Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Address: 30653 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Metro Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
Courtyard Romulus
Romulus Courtyard
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing