We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Rooms are run down which we didn't mind at first considering we just needed some place to stay for the night but when the morning after I saw a bed bug on one of my pillows that's when we couldn't get out of there fast enough. Really sad that they can't even have basic cleanliness in place...it would have made up for the run down state of the hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meemaa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Pacificasue
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Timothy A H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a room so I would not be driving in the very early hours of the morning to/from the airport. The rate was very cheap. The hotel was very easy to find from the airport and looked fairly decent from the outside. The staff was very pleasant and informative upon check in.

The room... I requested a non-smoking room (room 144). The first thing I noticed was the large burn mark in the carpet at the end of the bed. The second was how the room smelled of cigerette and spring breeze air freshener in the room. The A/C was running and the room was cool, but at around 2:30am the A/C became very loud and woke me up. I had to get up and turn it off. The walls and wallpaper are in need of repairs. The sheets had holes. The decor was old, but I had expected that with rate I paid.

The Bathroom... Older, but clean. The shower head was great, it had a massage settings! Combined with the good the water pressure, my shower was the best part of staying in the room. Flushing the toilet (in this room or ones close by) reduces the water pressure in the sink.

The Bed... the was old. While looking for my socks in the sheets... I saw staining on the materess and sheets. There was a hole in the sheets on the one bed. I was able to fall asleep and sleep comfortably (until the A/C started making noise). Around 8:00am, I could hear planes taking off and landing. If you are a light sleeper this may be an issue for you.

Breakfast... the Free breakfast was the standard... tea/coffee, juice, muffins, cereal, fruit. However we could not find a toaster to make toast! Best part of Breakfast was the waffle maker! I love those!

Parking was free (for the night)... I was able to park in front of my room but it had rained that day and while cutting across the lawn my shoes got soaked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwnnm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 days before leaving town. comfy beds housekeeping very friendly loved the staff. Would definitely stay again.breakfast was ok for it being free price was great have no complants thanx u all for great sty will be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is a two star. The price is of a two star. So, expect a two star. However, somethings are even like a 3 stars. The location is great and the price is amazingly cheap. If you are in transit and need something just for sleep close to the airport, it is a not brain decision.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarceloBigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 31119 Flynn Dr, I-94 Exit 198, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: $64 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Romulus/Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Ramada Romulus
Ramada Detroit Metro Airport
Romulus Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing