We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“++ Bang for the Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“++ Bang for the Buck”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Before reserving this hotel for a 3-day business trip I read up the reviews. They were mostly positive. Turned out to be true.
Pros are - Close to the Airport, call them after you arrive (from airport phone if needed - cost 50cents) and the nice shuttle bus with friendly driver comes over in less than 10 minutes. The motel is part of or adjoining a plaza that has several nice dining options. Rooms are quiet and reasonably cozy. The breakfast at the reception is not the best but works, everything fresh, and given the price point cannot complain really. The coffee machine serves hot coffee 24x7 complimentary (a blessing really in the cold). The 'big' lady at the reception is very helpful and went out of her way to reserve our cabs for the business visit. She called more than one company to find the best deal. That is, what I would call, over the top HELP.

Cons ?? - If you keep the price point in perspective then none really. But check out the room tips. And yes this is an 'airport' hotel so don't expect not to hear the sound of planes!!

Net Net good experience and will certainly consider coming back if needed.

Room Tip: The rooms are in 5 'strip' buildings behind the main reception building. The buildings are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avi_GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and we are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    106
    61
    17
    18
See reviews for
72
124
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed this past weekend for a overnite getaway. Booked one of the whirlpool rooms which was very inpressive. The check in was quick and the person was cheerful. Reserved the room over the phone and got a good rate, but once I checked in and used my best value inn membership card, the rate was even less and better yet. Only drawback was, after filling whirpool full of water (which at most hotel) take forever, pushed the button and it didn't work. Called the front desk and there was not a mantiance man on property, so she switched us to another room. Slight inconvience, but that room and tub worked fine. Like the recent remodeling they have done along with the new flat screen tv's, they should have the full cable channel selection instead of just 30 they offer. Will most assued return for another great getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romulusrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other travelers and are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. Also, thanks for your input on the hot tub and TV stations, we always like to hear things that we can improve on. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked direct with the hotel via phone. They worked with us to get the best deal for a one night stay for our 3 week trip to Hawaii. We had a party of four booking 2 rooms. The rooms themselves were remodeled not long ago. We had stayed at this same hotel once before when it was run by another hotel chain. Can't recall who though. Anyways, they did a fairly good job with the remodeling. Beds were new and the room was clean. New tvs also. Not bad at all.
The manager we worked with gave a very good rate with added advantages. With a one night stay, you get 10 days free parking while on your trip. We were going to gone for a total of 24 days. Seeing as we booked 2 rooms, she gave us a combined 20 free days of parking. We then had to pay for the extra 4 days at $6.39 per day. All the other hotels in the area would only give at most 14 free days of parking. So we would have had to pay for 10 extra days at $7 a day.
We've stayed at some of the other area hotels, some better than others. Comfort Inn, Baymont, and Holiday Inn. Some nicer than Americas Best, but you pay for it. This is the best value in my opinion.
Another good feature, is that Americas Best has their very own hotel shuttle with the Americas Best logo on the side. This makes it easier to spot at the pickup point at the airport. .It's a little hectic in that area. Plus when you call they have a van on duty 24-7. No waiting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel is a cluster of buildings(5) You park right outside your door. Updated quite well, flat screen tv"s, comfortable beds, nice linens. Across from building 5 a washer and dryer for guests.. Back entrance of lobby takes you to the restaurants adjacent. Park and fly was very reasonable, parking lot was full, we were given vouchers for the Qwik Park nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpigOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at America's Best Value Inn using their park-n-fly package. Check-in was very quick, staff was very friendly, and we were assigned a room in Building 5. The layout of the room was nice, although the tv was at a bit of an odd angle, the bed was comfortable, and everything was clean.

My main complaint with this room was the noise level. It didn't sound like the room was sound-proofed at all, and we could hear everything that went on in the parking lot, like car doors closing, people walking and talking, and traffic. We didn't sleep much that night. In addition, the room smelled like stale cigarette smoke, despite the fact that the rooms are supposed to be non-smoking.

Breakfast in the morning was ok, a basic continental breakfast with bagels, donuts, and coffee, as well as waffles.

The parking lot was apparently full so we had to leave the key with the front desk, and were advised that our car would be moved into the gated parking lot as soon as space became available. We found out when we returned that the car was left in a parking spot in front of the hotel, not in the gated parking lot.

I have no complaints with regards to the shuttle service itself - on our way home, we called the hotel and within 10 minutes the shuttle was there to pick us up.

All in all, it was an ok stay for the money we paid, but we probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiangirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel was very close, room was very clean, spacious & recently remodeled. John at the front desk was wonderful & the drivers of the shuttle were great. The tub plug couldn't worked a little better. Breakfast wasn't bad, it could've used some protein such as meat patties, or yogurt or hard boiled eggs. But we didn't go hungry. The price I paid included my car being parked there while we were on our trip, and it was well taken care of. Totally beat parking it at the airport! The beds were very comfortable, the water hot and included fridge/microwave, not to mention a great flat screen TV.

Room Tip: Had 2 queen beds, very comfortable. Heat/Air worked well, ice machine was in another building. Whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive stay prior to flying out of DTW. The price was the best for the area and allowed for our vehicle to be parked for seven days. Upon arrival we were greeted politely and they advised us they had no further parking available on site and we would have to utilize Qwik Park and gave us eight vouchers to park there with free shuttle. They charged me for the eighth day which I didn't need, but I was going to throw a fit over 7 dollar additional charge. Once we checked into the room it was nice and updated since our last visit here. The restroom was slightly dirty for our first day checking in. Overall good stay, no big problems! Breakfast in the morning wasn't much to lose sleep over, grabbed a coffee and took off!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoggNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 7600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing