We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and great price for park/sleep/fly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great room and great price for park/sleep/fly”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we booked this room online after searching for park, sleep, fly locations. We arrived very late but our reservations were held with just a phone call. I wished we could have more time in the nice rooms because they were clean with microwaves, flat screens and refridgerator and a soft bed. shuttle transportation was in a new mercedes van with a polite driver and timely service. Our vehicle was parked in a secured fenced lot. Upon our return, we called and the shuttle arrived shortly after the call. they transported us to our vehicle and waited until we were loaded and the vehicle started until they left the lot. I will stay here again in the future and recommend this hotel and parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyormirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    109
    63
    18
    18
See reviews for
74
126
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent two nights as part of a Sleep, Park and Fly package. Comfortable room, with all basic needs for an overnight stay (including comfortable mattress). Hotel missed our wake-up call the following morning, so we also missed our planned airport shuttle departure and had to take the next one, 30 min later. Very courteous shuttle driver, however due to numerous shuttle passengers and the way parking own vehicle is organized, shuttle departed 20 min later than planned.

Efficient airport shuttle pick-up on our return to the hotel. Same very professional driver. However, although part of our package was a second night in the hotel on our way back, we were not in the hotel's system as having had a reservation (although we had a confirmation). We were offered a room for the standard rate of $79.95. Check-in staff eventually agreed to honor the initial rate as included with our package. Turns out that the staff that checked us in for the first night had in fact assigned us two rooms for that night (we booked one room) and cancelled our room for the way back.

Overall a good choice for an airport hotel, however their standard rates are overpriced. Although recently renovated, these are not $80/night hotel rooms, rather $50/night.

We enjoyed the convenience of a few restaurants within 2 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasasLaSelvatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had stayed here a few years ago when it was the Howard Johnson's. We booked on parksleepfly website and the deal was the best of the area hotels for 15 days parking with hotel. The recent renovations since our last stay were nice and our room was tastefully decorated and clean.

We took the 4:30 a.m. shuttle to the airport and the driver was very courteous and pleasant. He wished us a good trip and said he would be there to pick us up on our return with a simple phone call. We used the courtesy phone after collecting our luggage on our return and the shuttle was there within a few minutes. Although it was a different driver, he was just as pleasant as the first driver.

We were able to leave our car in the locked parking lot at the back of the hotel and were picked up and dropped off right at our car.

We were very impressed with the hotel overall and their service and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was recently renovated. The room was adequate for an overnight sleep and getting up early in the morning. I had to leave my keys for them to park the car due to flight delays and not enough room in the parking lot. This worked fine as the parking is directly behind the hotel.

The room was o.k. except for the heater. It warmed the room adequately but it was noisy. An old style under the window heater/air conditioner. The price was right and everything else was fine. The shuttle service was good. I would stay here again depending on what other hotels and offers are on in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48174, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that the night stay at our hotel was not bad, we see that we can improve on a few things to make the guest happier. We appreciate your feed back, hope to see you in the future.

Kristie
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
308 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We got a groupon for a hotel night with free nights of parking and this place exceeded our expectations. Even though we are locals with a 1/2 hr commute to the airport, this option definitely beats waking up early and driving to the airport.

Had to catch a 7am flight and the shuttle leaves every 1/2hr. The breakfast at 5am is very convenient and sumptuous with a spread of bagels, hot waffles and pastries. The coffee was great as well with options of travel cups.

The place has been renovated recently and is a great value with a big fridge, microwave, flat screen TV with HBO in every room..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was very impressed with the service here. I was leaving on a 6 am flight and was on the shuttle and off to the airport. The trip back to the inn was prompted and faster than parking at the airport. The hotel is also near the Ikea store so guess were I spent some time

Room Tip: be aware that you are next to the airport but then that is why I choose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny48911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here in September when heading out on a early flight to Las Vegas. Room looked as it had just been renovated and was done so very nicely. It is not a huge room, but really how big do you need to sleep. Guest Service staff was friendly, as well was the shuttle driver. When returning from our flight to get our car we waited no more than 10mins for the shuttle to come and get us which was great because it was cold out. I would highly recomend this hotel, great price that cant be beat. The part that hooked us was the parking is ON-SITE and secured!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 7600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing