We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Ripley, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, good value”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We needed a place to stay before and after a trip, and to park our vehicle. The first night the room was clean and newly renovated. The man at the desk Jon was very nice and helpful. He remembered us on our return trip. No problem with the shuttle or parking. Make your own waffles - a favorite with our kids. The return night our room did smell of cigarettes. I let them know the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryellenP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    110
    65
    18
    18
See reviews for
75
128
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was dearly hoping to write a positive review after using the "stay, park, fly" package. Alas, I cannot. My partner and I were initially quite pleasantly surprised. The room we were given had been redone and was quite nice. Huge contrast to the worn and ragged space that I experienced previously then this was a Howard Johnson's location.

We were told that upon our return, all we had to do was call and "a shuttle will be sent right away". Well, it took us 4 or 5 calls and over 45 minutes before their shuttle file arrived. I heard different excuses from the receptionist and from the driver. But I don't want excuses or apologies. I want GOOD SERVICE. And making customers wait for nearly an hour, in the cold, before the promised shuttle arrives is inexcusable.

At the price, this was a great value. But the bad experience at the end of our trip put a terrible sour taste in our mouth about this facility and its services.

And I have NO confidence that I will hear anything from the management of the location.

I guess we "got what we paid for".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_PoppaEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport as you home away from home. We understand you have many choices in the lodging so your decision to stay with us is very much appreciated. I am concerned about the problems you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I am writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

A hotel is defined by the quality of service it provides to its guests. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn that you’re unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology!

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, what we’re doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

I understand you don't want to hear excuses or apologies but we did just begin our own hotel shuttle service a month ago and are still working out the kinks. Since we were unable to make your concerns right during your brief visit, I really hope you give us one more chance!

Please be assured that all of the issues you’ve raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Angela Thorpe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was quite adequate. The bed was comfortable. I"m not sure if it had been
cleaned or not. The bathroom floor was sticky and gritty. I used a white towel and washed
the floor and the towel was black, black, black. I showed the desk clerk and he said it shouldn't be like that....duh!! The desk clerks were rather unhelpful when we checked in. Finally, the female clerk came out of a glass enclosed area and she was rude to the male desk clerk who was trying to be professional and help us and about 4 other s families behind us. The female was very rude to the male clerk and it made me uncomfortable. She wasn't helping him and he was trying to take care of a whole line of patrons. Not good teamwork on her part. The desk clerk in the morning said he'd get back with me about the dirty bathroom floor that I washed, but I haven't heard from them YET.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbmac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, ON
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Well appointed and maintained bungalow style buildings make this overnight location for flying in or out of Detroit's Wayne County Airport. Friendly service, rooms are comfortable and spacious, hot breakfast included and available from 5:00 a.m.with courtesy shuttle to airport every 1/2 hour. On-site secured parking included for up to 10 days at either beginning or conclusion of trip or both. Great value for the money. Will definitely stay here again on trips requiring overnight accommodation when flying out of Detroit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin Heights, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A weeks parking and a nite stay before your flight for $60 is a great deal. My wife and I stayed here Oct 11, 2012 before flying south. The accomodations were good and the service was fine. The rooms have been recently renovated so they are comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel for those on a tight budget. It is very nice and the airpot shuttle is fantastic. Thanks. Will stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Happy to find this place after tough day. Complimentary 24hr shuttle, efficient friendly check in, microwave, minifridge, marble topped vanity, LG flat screen, plenty of lights, comfortable bed, ceiling heat in bathroom ....I could go on. I could not be more impressed with this hotel for the price and recommend it without reservation.

All rooms are "outside " -- this is not an interior hallway hotel. There are many buildings, all single story. If mobility is an issue ask for building 1, closest to the front.
Will be back when need arises.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missalonghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We hope you come back to visit our hotel, but not as a distressed traveler next time! We hope you got home safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here 1 night pre-flight and parked our car for 7 days. I have used stay park fly previously and This was the best run I have seen. The new owners have done a nice job bringing this hotel back and the layout is more like an apartment complex rather than a hotel. The property is made of several stand alone units and the rooms have a unique but functional layout. Nice bed, nice flat screen TV, plenty of HOT water with very good pressure.
The shuttle service ran perfect and the drivers were very personable. We called for a pick up at the airport after we retrieved our luggage, and the driver was there in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sir_randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 7600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1911
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing