We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average airport flop, though a little scary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Average airport flop, though a little scary”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The goal in life for this hotel is to be a (cheap) flop for travelers staying over to deal with DTW airport. Its old. The rooms are old. The breakfast is cereal. Service is OK. Rates are low. What do you want for the rate you pay this close to the airport? The night I stayed they must have booked a dump truck convention because literally half the parking was filled with dump trucks taking up 8 spots each. Besides feeling disrespected that the management allowed this to happen, I felt scared for my live navigating the back end of a poorly lit parking lot in Detroit with my bags of stuff that I needed inside the room. Will try a different low cost airport hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoccasinMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    102
    71
    48
    56
See reviews for
113
121
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler AZ
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a great hotel with a staff that is on point for all of your needs,
Very clean, great breakfast, on time airport shuttle, and a great fitness room.
The manager Heather Davis asked if there was anything I needed twice a day to ensure my stay was pleasant, they allowed me the privacy I needed to perform my daily work but were never out of reach if I did need something,
This was my second stay at the hotel and I was welcomed when I arrived like I was a old friend of the hotel, the staff was the best part, so friendly and so aware of my needs.
Any future trips to Detroit Airport for myself or anyone from my company I know where to go or send them
Best deal and the best room, in Romulus
Michael/Certifleet

Room Tip: Ask to speak with Heather the manager, on point service my entire stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have dealt with the Quality Inn now for sometime located in Romulus Michigan, but this time was different for me because I took advantage of their Park and Fly program. I knew a little about it before, but the girls at the front desk made it so easy to understand and how it worked. I did not hesitate leaving my vehicle one bit knowing that it would be taken care of and would be placed in a very secure location. People tend to get a little nervous about their car and where it goes when they leave for a trip, but after I signed up for the program, I knew the Hotel would take care of me like they have always have done in the past. There was no worry what-so-ever!!! On another note...I have never seen before in my life, and I have stayed in many hotels, the aggressive work that is being done to this hotel. Every room has brand new bathroom counters and sinks which are fantastic looking, and now they have started to wallpaper the bathrooms also. The General Manager Heather Davis, has made this Hotel her top priority. She works endlessly on trying to upgrade this property, she works endlessly on customer satisfaction. If it is not right, her staff will make it right. This is the place to stay whether you park and fly or visiting Detroit itself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRomulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkster
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My stay here at Quality-Inn has always been the best . No matter where in the world i may travel it will always be here. The staff is warm hearted and always friendly with smiles they are the best. I will like to give a special thanks to Chelsea that worked midnight shift at about 1:30am in the morning she was very helpful smiling and very courtesy on April 5, 2013.

Room Tip: The suites here are fabulous and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuwondaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a result of Hurricane Sandy 10/2012 we were unable to land at Newark, NJ. The staff here greeted us with smiles, understanding and courtesy that lasted for our entire 3 day stay. We called Krista (front desk) "The Octopus". She literally did 8 things at once with a cheerful demeanor for each person she dealt with. The entire staff was the same. One staff member made an 80th birthday cake for a NY gentleman -also stranded- who would be unable to celebrate with his family at home. The staff called guests to come to the lobby and share in the festivities. It became obvious this is who they are ...everyday! Just wonderful folks. If I were back in Detroit, I'd stop to say "Hi. Enjoyed my stay."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The girl at check-in with the wild long dark hair was one of the friendlyest I have met in that industry. The deal with the car park for a week+ was great. Rooms older but clean. Breakfast good and quick.Shuttle rides fast and smooth.I didn't check if they had a pool

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AccfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, no more than 5 minutes from DTW airport, beside rental car yard, easy to reach I-94. Big rooms (a bit out-dated) with 2 comfy big beds. Parking lot with limited space. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Romulus

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Address: 9555 Middlebelt Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Romulus
#11 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus Hotel Romulus
Quality Inn And Suites Romulus
Quality Inn Romulus
Quality Inn Hotel Romulus
Romulus Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing