We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stayed one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Since I am a Marriott Rewards member and will be staying in this area every Wednesday evening for the rest of the year I stayed at this property. It is a nice hotel and the staff was friendly. Furniture in room is a outdated and not convenient outlets for the electronics of the times. Won't be coming back since they have not upgraded to HD programming. For a Marriott you would think it would! I am now staying at the Springhill Suites near by which is a Marriott property with HDTV programming and you get complimentary breakfast. If HD and comp breakfast is not important I recommend this Marriott.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that our lack of HD put a damper on your visit, Tim. I appreciate you sharing this feedback with us, because we're always open to new upgrades and features to make our hotel even more welcoming. I can certainly pass this along to our team. It sounds like you'll be frequenting DTW often this year -- I'd love to welcome you back in for another visit. I know our friendly team and comfortable rooms would impress!

Take care,
Brandi, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    156
    89
    34
    14
See reviews for
79
65
40
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
225 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Flights were delayed and cancelled so I made a reservation earlier in the day. The shuttle was timely and had me at the hotel in no time. Everyone at checkin was friendly and helpful so checking in was a breeze. The room was nice and clean on the concierge level. The lounge was open and offered the standard food and beverages in a relaxed environment. Just the thing you want after 6 hrs on a plane. The hotel was smaller than most Marriotts but was a great value and the location to the airport was a huge plus. The shuttle had me back when needed only a 5 minute trip. I hope next time I can stay longer than the 10 hrs I was there and take advantage of the other areas of the hotel . Good for business travelers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were caught in the winter polar vortex that created havoc for air travelers of which we were two. Forced to spend at least one night in Detroit, we were fortunate to get a room at this Marriott. We were put on the concierge floor due to our gold status. Unfortunately we were not able to take much advantage of the lounge's amenities as we arrived too late in the evening. The room was fine except for the heating unit which blew directly on us in bed. It was either cold air or hot air, which did not make for the most comfortable night. But the room and bathroom were clean, and the staff was pleasant and courteous. The shuttle was convenient although it could use some new shock absorbers. But all in all, it was our port in the storm.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a very acceptable airport hotel. The bed was fabulous. It was extremely comfortable (to the extent that we took the brochure home with a view to upgrading ours at home!) there is a passable bar with at least one local brew (in our case Arcadia IPA)
The check in and out was quick and efficient and the shuttle to and from the airport was regular. It took about seven minutes to get us there.
If I need an hotel at DTW. I will use the Marriott.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jphilips1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockway, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had an early flight so I chose this hotel to spend the night. The front desk people were friendly and helpful. My room was clean and the mattress was very comfortable. There is an Irish Pub and restaurant by the front desk. My dinner was fine. I had the buffet for breakfast and had to pay for it as it wasn't included. It was wonderful!

The hotel is by the off airport parking places. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debralee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good, room ia clean abd spacious enough, the bed is pretty good too with nice pillows. Got a good deal, so i believe that the price was really adequate to what they offer. We really recomend this hotel, and it ia really close to the airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel generally looks a little sad and worse for wear, but that wasn't really a problem for me, as I wasn't trying to impress anyone, and it seemed like the worn carpets were kept clean.

The service had a few rough spots, but they made a good effort to correct the glitches.

I arrived in a rather full shuttle, and there was only one person at the front desk checking people in. They should have been able to coordinate and know to be prepared for that shuttle arriving. Eventually, more staff came out, but not after having people waiting for check in for a while.

I asked for a quiet room, and the agent chose what she thought would be good for that, but what I got was a first floor room at the end of the building that is right next to an interstate highway. The good news is that when I went back to the front desk to complain about this a team of two different agents willingly and apologetically found me another room much further from that source of noise. When I got to the second room, it had a noisy, always-on ventilation system in the bathroom, and was definitely worse than the first room in that regard, but at that point I decided to close the bathroom door, put in my earplugs, and get some sleep rather than go wait at the front desk again.

Bottom line – the staff is very willing to help, but it's better when they get it right on the first try, like in the Hilton I'm staying in now.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuctrohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Property: Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Address: 30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing