We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our third stay at the Marriott at Detroit Metro Airport. Obviously, we like this hotel!

The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The beds are extremely comfortable and it is extremely quiet given that the planes literally fly over the building! This is not the most convenient location to downtown Detroit with all the crazy road construction but it is a great value for a very nice hotel.

We did not use the pool/hot tub this time but have very much enjoyed them the last two visits. They are clean and in their own covered building. I also like how they have the room set up with the a little entry area. I really think this cuts down on the outside noise one hears while sleeping/relaxing.

The only complaint I had this time was the worn carpets in the hallways. If you have never stayed here before, this very well may make you think the hotel is less nice than it really is however, nothing in our room was worn or out of place at all! Like I said, almost perfect!

Room Tip: Since this is our third stay I can say we have not had a bad room, but as always I recommend staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    155
    88
    34
    14
See reviews for
76
65
38
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
490 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good solid Marriott with efficient staff. Close to hotel with good shuttle service to the airport. Rooms are large but some of the furnishing seemed mismatched and a little dated. Try for a room not on the runway approaches as there can be room noise.

Room Tip: Try for a room not on runway approach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highstandards1034
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Found this hotel to be beautifully appointed. Food service great. Rooms very clean and spacious as was bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Some of us traveling together all landed in the bar on a Sunday afternoon and the service was friendly and food excellent.
We've done this before and places are hard pressed to even wait on us, this place never skipped a beat. We stayed on conceirge floor- great free breakfast and evening offerings- it was wonderful!

Room Tip: If you can get on conceirge floor it is really nice with amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highstandards1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is fine for a few hours of shut-eye before or after catching a flight...

My wife and I spent one night here doing just that. Had a very early flight the next morning, and this place certainly fulfilled our needs for the night.

Check in was fast and efficient, and as a Marriott Gold member, we were given a room on the executive floor. While the lounge was closed (because it was a weekend), we were given breakfast coupons for the next day. The breakfast was pretty good--cooked to order eggs, some other hot dishes and other normal breakfast foods.

The room was a bit on the small side, as was the bathroom. There was a portable fridge in the room which we tripped over--I'm guessing it was still there from a previous guest, as it seemed very out of place. We had a tough time navigating our suitcases around, as even the closet was small.

The walls/doors appear to be paper-thin, as we heard all kinds of noise coming from the hallway all night long. Quite the contrast to our stay at The Henry a few weeks prior, where, despite lots of hallway noise before we closed the door, it was silent once the door was closed.

I'd probably stay here again, but only if we scored a really good rate...Can't say if there's any better hotel near DTW, as I haven't stayed anywhere else...But this very, very typical, non-extraordinary hotel is sufficient for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Service was food, but this airport hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The rooms were lacking any of the features found in even the most basic Marriott hotels. Shuttle was also a little slow getting there. Pub restaurant was reasonable. Unlikely to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raytkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy P, General Manager at Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our property is currently updating items as needed. We have planned our updates in stages so that we do not displace our guests as we complete the renovations. Please contact me directly if you would like a detailed description of the items we are changing. Warm regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I arrived for a one night stay on 8/4/13 @ 9PM. The front desk staff was friendly and check in took only a few moments. The room was standard, but clean, and comfortable. The A/C worked well. The concierge lounge was nice and had cookies and brownies in the evening. In the morning the lounge had a nice breakfast spread with both hot and cold offerings. The staff in the lounge was also very friendly. The location is perfect for catching a flight. If your travels take you to the Detroit airport I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This stay could have gone bad. Really bad. But thanks to the manager, it worked out well. We arrived late to find there were no double rooms available. We had booked our room in advance and required two beds as we were with our children. Most of the airport hotels were booked due to an event. Anyways, the manager was able to make things work to our satisfaction. I always appreciate managers who go above and beyond...thanks Elisabeth.

The rooms were pretty standard for a airport marriott. They were clean and quiet. The hotel is old, but in good condition. The breakfast at the concierge lounge was delicious.

Overall, a great stay. If you need a clean, quiet hotel near the airport, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePilotsWife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.4 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Property: Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Address: 30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing