We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport, clean and $89 a night made it a winner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice enough hotel. 2 miles from the airport. Shuttle every 20 minutes. Polite staff. Clean hotel. Pub in the lobby is good enough for a few drinks and some good food choices. Would stay again. Not as convenient as the Westin located in the airport, but better value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 458 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I rated this hotel "Very Good" because of the value that it represents - but not because of the property. This hotel is old, outdated, somewhat run down & in need of some major renovations. They have new carpets in the lobby areas and hallways which is nice. But as soon as you get into the room and see the old (Signature Marriott 1990 Green Diamond) carpeting thats faded & torn - you realize that this hotel is just another old lady with cheap makeup.

Outdated, ugly & dilapidated facility aside. This hotel represents a good value. It is one of the closest propreties to the airport, the hotel is safe and the access is controlled into the building, it offers free parking & plenty of it, free wi-fi, great fitness center, pool, hot tub & a nice sports bar w/ decent food.

The hotel staff was very friendly and hospitable. Almost a little to relaxed if you ask me. My flight was delayed and I arrived at 4AM. The check in clerks were 1/2 asleep, they (2) of them - did not have a name tag and they were full of visible tattoos. This gave me a terrible impression. I was not offered assistance with my luggage. The luggage carts are so old and outdated that I am shocked the Marriott brand even allows those carts to be used. They look awful. When they changed the carpet in the halls. They should of at least re-carpeted those luggage carts that look terrible. Some of them are even crooked.

The lobby at night (each night I was there) smells like gas. There is without a doubt a gas leak there at night. Several guests commented on it, each night. Yet the hotel seems to do nothing about it. During the day you can not smell it. But at night the smell is there and its strong.

I am en elite member of the Marriott Rewards program. So I got special treatment at check in which was nice. I was allowed to select a snack from the snack shop at no charge. My key was programmed to the concierge lounge on the 4th floor. I was told there was breakfast available in the mornings. I went to breakfast and it was closed on Saturdays. I wish the agent would have told me that. But she had no clue apperantley, again to relaxed and informal. Concierge lounge is old and ugly. Looks like the Marriotts of 1990's. I only saw it thru the glass, as it was closed all weekends. Unlike other properties. You can not even come in to get fruit, water or just relax in the lounge. They close it off completely.

The room, while outdated and small. Did have many comforts. For one, it was clean which is important to me. It had a large flat screen TV, a nice work desk and chair, plenty of lighting, good closet space, coffee machine, a complimentary bottle of water, lots of towels & the signature Marriott Revive bed w/ all of the fixings.

What the room did not have was a safe, which should be expected at (what is supposed to be a full-service) Marriott property. Even some of the Courtyards have safes. How could this full service hotel not ?

Stay here for the proximity to the airport, the free parking, the very comfy beds, the nice gym, the pool & the friendly staff. Just don't expect anything extraordinary, rejuvenating or luxurious. Just a good value - that's all.

Room Tip: Rooms that are NOT facing the airport.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miamiskyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this last minute because we had an early flight and the weather was bad. It was very good, the staff was nice and it was very close to the airport. The room itself was nice, there was some airport noise, but in general pretty quite. The bed was very comfy and the room was nice and clean. The restaurant was nothing to write home about but it did suit our needs in it being convenient, I could get a beer and it has a kids menu. The staff in general were very nice, especially to my four year old. We had to leave the hotel at 4:00 AM and there was coffee waiting for me as well as the shuttle. If we ever have an early flight again and the weather is threatening, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Airport Marriott is truly an understatement... As I type this review it sounds like a 767 is landing in my room. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs. Aside from the airport in your backyard and the depression that is Romulus in your front yard, this is a good choice for business travel. Ironically, air traffic and highway noise hurt the quality of the stay, but proximity to both makes it a convenient choice for business travel. I continue to find myself sucking it up and staying here because the service is great and it's overwhelmingly convenient for those early flights out of DTW. If you're willing to sacrifice a quiet night's sleep for the simple joy of knowing tomorrow you'll be first in line to be frisked by the TSA, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for the great comments about my team and I will be sure to pass them on. The proximity to the airport is both a blessing and a curse, depending on which way the wind blows. We are proud to be your home for those early flights out.

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked this last minute through the express deal on Priceline, it was easy to figure out which hotel it was. Came to $64. The room was a good size, very comfy beds and mostly very clean. Only complaints would be the chair at the desk had some questionable stains on it, they didn't offer short-term parking for a weekend trip, and the tub built up with water while I was taking my short shower, but my travel buddy didn't have that problem. The hot-tub was great, pool was warm. I would book it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwillgothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

..Typical Marriott (and if you stay at their properties, that is a good thing). Hotel was very clean, and this particular Park & Fly was crazy!! Accommodation for i night-king bed, and 8 nights FREE parking next door at Airline Parking (which is also first class) for right around $110.00 plus taxes, which were minimal. Will stay ther again and again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was visiting in Ann Abor this past weekend but my son was on a 6:30 a.m. flight out of Detroit on Sunday morning so we decided to stay close to the airport. This hotel is minutes away from the airport. Very nice room. Great rate. Printed off boarding pass in the "business office". Best of all my son took the hotel shuttle to the airport at 5 a.m. - he was checked in and through security by 5:30. Highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Address: 30559 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $104 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing