We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 8, 2008

I stayed here becuase I needed a room near the airport. They have a regular airport shuttle that worked out very well. The driver was courteous and efficient. Check in went very well and they have a pub right next to the lobby if you want to grab a beer and watch some TV. I used room service since I was traveling solo. The meal was good and it arrived ahead of schedule. There are not a significant # of options to eat out near this hotel. They have high speed in the room which is much nicer than wireless. I'd stay hear again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FrqTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 480 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2007

Booked this hotel for a weekend trip to a Lions game. This Marriott is about 15 miles from the city. It's across the street from the airport. I chose this hotel because it offered free parking, and was cheaper than the downtown Marriott Renaissance Center (which you have to pay like $15 a day for parking).

You can expect typical Marriott standards from this hotel. Everything was clean, and refreshing. Hotel has a pub inside which had great food, but the menu is limited. There is a McDonalds, and Bob Evans within walking distance of the hotel.

Nice service.... You won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bignar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Very nice hotel. Loved it. Exellent, clean, comfortable room. Clost to airport. Convenient. Super. I just got back from two nights in Detroit, one here and one at another hotel and I have to say that this
was by far the better of the two.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank QueensLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the night before our flight for our honeymoon. We purchased the park and fly package which is totally worth it. The thing we both loved most about this hotel was the bed. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to leave in the morning! Also, the room was very clean and modern. The shuttle to Metro Airport came every 1/2 hour and was very convenient. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay close to Metro Airport.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tp-mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davrix, General Manager at Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2007

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay and hope you can stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Really nice place to stay. Clean, great service, and fun pub! Hard to believe this is a hotel by an airport, even with the reminders of the planes overhead - easy to overlook with the smallish but very clean rooms and again, great bar with friendly staff throughout the hotel. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kristin1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I recently stayed at this Marriott after doing business in Detroit and having an early flight the next morning. I have stayed here numerous times before and this hotel has improved 100%. Not only did the hotel undergo a physical rennovation recently which gave the hotel a new restaurant, but each room is now amazingly better. However, the best thing about this hotel is that that Hotel General Manager really knows his stuff and has his staff operating at a Ritz/Fairmont level hotel. This was my second trip to this hotel in less than a month and each time the service was outstanding.
The only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 is that it tends to be somewhat pricey (and going up).
The concierge lounge is excellent and the staff both morning and evening there is superb.
If you are in the Detroit area I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davrix, General Manager at Detroit Metro Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2007

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. Our associates take these comments to heart and it was a pleasure to pass this review to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

I stayed here on the 11th and 12th along with 14th and 15th.

This hotel is a very good one -- only problems preventing me from giving this is a full 5 were:

- Pool was ice cold - appeared as if the heater was not working.

- High Speed internet - charges you $9.95USD for Noon to Noon to hotel room bill.

Can ask for late checkout from this Marriott. Their Concierge lounge was superb! Really saved me money on breakfast in the morning!

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank Sanosuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Address: 30559 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $95 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing