We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Stars...I think not...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Rooms are small...lobby is loud...had a HUGE issue with CHEAPHOTELS.COM...WILL NOT USE THIS SERVICE AGAIN.

As a previous Marriott employee...I was groomed to provide excellent customer service...neither hotel or website stood by the package they "accidentally" sold me. Lost a value of $250 because of the snafu.

July 4th weekend...pool is being remodeled and not available...oh yeah, we can go to the other Marriott down the street and use theirs though.

Will not stay here again...rated average because it still is a Marriott...but not the Marriott I know.

Room Tip: Do Not Use Cheaphotels.com!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Servicedemander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 466 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

We travel to Detroit area 2-3 x's a year to visit family. I usually can find a nice hotel for a great price in the vicinity of the airport. This Mariott is the 3rd one we've stayed in at the Merriman exit. We got a great rate and found a very nice facility with a small but nicely appointed king room, nearly a duplicate to a Courtyard Hotel room we had in California. Huge flatscreen, nice desk, overstuffed chair and ottoman, king bed and upscale linens, black granite in bath. Our room faced the courtyard opposite I-94 and the Merriman exit ramp. Except for the occasionaly distant sound of a jet takeoff (to be expected), was very quiet. Never heard a peep from other guests who happened to be a large family reunion and at least two tournament baseball teams. Will add it high on my list of Detroit stays, when the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Very nice property. Rooms are a little small but well maintained. Great grounds and excellent staff. Beds are comfortable and room is very quiet. pretty good location for my business too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikecDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed one night due to a cancelled DL flight. Hotel was provided gratis, so I can't comment on the rate. Even with the DL voucher, front desk was excellent on check-in and accomodated my requests. Had room service, very quick and well prepared. I stay in this area regularly but have not stayed here before. Room is somewhat on the small side but the beds are extremely comfortable. I found my room at least to be very quiet and I was at the highway/runway end of the hotel.

Thanks to the staff for making a bad situation feel a little better. I will certainly make a point of returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FollowMyGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hadn't gotten this hotel near DTW in a while, but got it for a $43 bid on priceline.com the night before my wife and I had to leave on an early morning flight.

It was in the same pristine condition as the last time I stayed. Rooms looked similar except now have new beds and the flat screen TV's which came in so handy as that night my San Francisco Giants were playing in the World Series. It's the beds that keep me coming back to Marriott - they are some of the best and most comfortable out there.

This property also has a nice secure feel to it, a pleasant front desk, and a prompt shuttle to the airport, which for an airport hotel, is going to keep me coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Very good value, great clean room with nice amenities. Very loud lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Ordinairy hotel. Convenient for the airport (free shuttle), and everything OK, but nothing really good. The main problem is getting a good nights sleep. The heating system is very noisy, and the sound insulation to avoid aircraft noise is poor - surely a must for an airport hotel. Avoid the food in the hotel bar, my food was very salty and was served lukewarm. Otherwise the rooms are good and comfortable, well sized and clean. Free wifi. Breakfast OK. Recommended only based on its convenience for the airport

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Address: 30559 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $93 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing