We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location at a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Defiance, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I generally find La Quinta properties to be comfortable and a joy to stay at; this was no exception! The staff was helpful, the laundry facilities came in handy (though I would like it if they provided detergent in either a vending machine or in the little store they have), and the free shuttle was terrific. I was a little disappointed that the shuttle didn't arrive to pick me up within the time they said it would, but that is a minor detail that should be taken into consideration when they tell you how long it will take when you call the front desk.

The only issue I had with the nice sized room was that the door was difficult to actually latch. I had to really pull on it when I left to make sure that the latch caught. This could be a potential security issue and should be looked into on all the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    216
    76
    25
    8
See reviews for
212
163
48
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We only stayed one night at the hotel and i must say i will make sure to return. The service of the hotel staff was exceptional. Very kind, knowledgeable and helpful! The rooms were gorgeous. The remodeling that was done was excellent! The design and furniture and colors are beautiful! I truly felt at home in my room 122. Very clean and comfy rooms! very modern rooms!

Room Tip: Read the reviews and it tells it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We only spent one night at the hotel but we were extremely pleased. We got to town early and were able to check in right away. The staff was extremely friendly. We found the entire hotel clean and new updates were nice.
Only downside, with it being in the Airport Area there are a TON of hotels in a very small area...most behind others. This hotel was not marked on the main road so we ended up driving around the circle a few times until we asked for directions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Drove some distance to stay here, close to the airport. Room was all I wanted, comfy and clean and the shuttle was ready when I was and quickly took me to the airport. Great front desk staff made the check-in effortless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We only spent one night at the hotel as part of a stay/fly package. We had stayed at the La Quinta before, not great, but found out that this was a new remolded location, and were very happy with our purchase.

As others have noted this is a completely remolded hotel, The owners have done everything possible to make the hotel comfortable and appealing to the eyes.

The rooms are large, bed is comfortable, flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, what more could one want. Only one complaint, the bathroom exhaust fan made more noise than a jet coming in for a landing.

As noted by another reviewer the breakfast was not fantastic but still OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irwish__jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

While we only had a 1 night stay at the LaQuinta, we were pleasantly surprised by the updated gem of an Inn close to DTW. It was clean and comfortable with a great perk...used the park and go option for 8 nights complimentary parking, Shuttles were on time and efficiently run with friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kellym68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently remodeled, clean, fresh and contemporary with very friendly service. Pet friendly without an extra charge. Close to the airport with some flight path noise. Nearby restaurant was fine ( Merriman Bar and Grill). Breakfast was only continental; there are nearby restaurants to go to if you want more. Great comfy beds, too!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nlb714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 30847 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Detroit Metro Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
#3 Family Hotel in Romulus
#5 Business Hotel in Romulus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have free high speed wireless internet - free continental breakfast - free airport shuttle - fridge & microwave in every room. Suites are available as well. Pets can stay too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Romulus
Romulus Hampton Inn
Lexington Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing