We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet Parking is a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Romulus Days Inn using their "Park, stay and fly" package which is listed as valet parking. There is NO valet parking. You park your car in their parking lot and then leave your keys with the front desk. They move your car offsite while you are away and then on the day of your return they bring your car back to their lot. When you arrive back you get your keys from the front desk and have to literally find your car in the parking lot! Adding insult to injury, it took 1 hour from the time we called Days Inn for the shuttle to pick us up until they arrived and delivered us back to Days Inn.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the back of the building because they have all of the semi drivers park their rigs ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our park and fly package when you last stayed with our hotel. The reason why it is referred to as Valet parking is because of the company taking the vehicle off-site for you and returning it to the hotel. With the majority of airport parking in our area, the customer is required to drop the vehicle off at the lot themselves, secure a shuttle or cab back to the lot, and retrieve the vehicle from that lot themselves.

We are very unhappy to hear that you had such a long wait for your shuttle to pick you back up once you returned to the airport, and we consider this to be unacceptable. We use a third party shuttle company to and from the airport, and we expect that our guests be taken care of by our contractors. While we are not 100% aware of any heavy trafic issues that might have been going on the day that you returned to pick up your vehicle, we are addressing this with our contractors currently and will make sure that this is not a repeat issue.

We also would like to apologize for any issues that you might have encountered with the semi-trucks that use our parking lot while their drivers are at our hotel. We have very strict policies about the vehicles being left on, or anyone doing any work to them, especially at such hours! Someone was obviously not adhering to our policies at the time of your stay, and we thank you so much for bringing this to our attention! We will now be strengthening our watch on that issue and making sure that it does not happen in the future.

Once again, we are very sorry that your stay was not to the caliber that it should have been. We hope that if you are in our area again you will give us the chance to show you just how much our hotel has to offer. If you mention this tripadvisor response the next time you might need to make a reservation with us, we will go out of our way to make sure that we do everything that we can to make your stay with us all that it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank DAVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank VONDAJO946
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank JLB855
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was great. Except we was takeing our Grandkids to Disney World. and they lost out on the morning breakfast becouse the power was lost during the night. We had to leave early for our flight . It was a lost experiance for them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank DARLENE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnMetroAirport, Manager at Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Darlene,

Thanks for letting us know that you thought that our hotel was great, it's always encouraging to hear! We are very sorry about any inconvenience that the power outage may have caused you or your family, and we would like to be able to make that up to you if it is at all possible! If you are in our area again and in need of a hotel room, just make sure to mention this tripadvisor post/review in an email to manager@daysinndtw.com. We will make sure that we do something extra special to take care of you and your family! Hope you enjoyed your time at Disney!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 9501 Middlebelt Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among Detroit Metro Airport Hotels, the Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport is proudly listed on AAA’s 3 Diamond rated hotels. Great for business travel, leisure, or family vacations. Conveniently located close to the airport and many of Detroit’s main attractions including Greektown, MGM, Motor City Casino, Greenfield Village, and much more. We offer a business center, workout facility, free 24hr airport shuttle, complimentary continental breakfast and many more amenities located on 3 stories with all indoor corridors. Also try our on-site restaurant Wing’s Bar and Grill newly remodeled with large Flat Screen HDTVs and a full menu to choose from. Ask about our Park and Fly packages which include, one night stay and extended parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
Days Inn And Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Days Inn Romulus
Romulus Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing