We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms and Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here on October 1 because of a delayed flight, and this is where the airline put us up for the night. Michael the night manager was so helpful and courteous, he expedited all of our requests and was pleasant. My room was a double room, it was spacious, clean and comfortable... what more could you ask for in a hotel? The location isn't great, but I wasn't there for a holiday, and the free breakfast could have offered some better quality and selection of food.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Leese_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so I kind of knew what to expect as I've stayed before once, but it seems the place is rapidly deteriorating. Here's the pro's: right next to the airport, free shuttle service, free airport parking for a week if you get a room for one night. Obviously that's probably why everybody stays there. The con's: Dirty, old, and unclean. We stayed on floor 3 and the minute you get out of the elevator you are hit with a hot stench that says "too many people smoked here back in the day" and instantly, my wife's asthma flared up. The room is nothing exciting. It seems as though the comforter on the bed is from the 80's and there are stains on the carpet, walls, and bed sheets. The overall smell of the rooms is quite unpleasant. They did recently put in full mini-fridges that seem new and those are the cleanest items in the hotel. The staff however was very polite and helpful, and I had no issues there. This place needs a serious makeover of new paint, carpet, and bedding before my wife will ever let us stay again. Make sure if you do go that you use a park and fly coupon, it's a great value for the airport parking. Sorry Days Inn staff; not your fault... Tell your owner to dump some money into that place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattheweilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here on augusta 14 .. The room was okay until i noticed dried blood on the white blanket. I left an email the day after and called days inn complaint line as well as sent email to the dtw days inn..Once i spoke with the manager on the phone she tried to argue with me and advise me that it wasnt blood, it couldve been anything but blood...Im 37 yrs old went to nursing school raising four children I know what dried blood looks like...I was advised they didnt have any other rooms , they need to change managers because she really has a bad attitude.....She just kept getting an attitude and said good luck to you.

Room Tip: leave go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My fiance and I decided to stay here the night before flying to Las Vegas for our wedding. Once we arrived in our room we were very disappointed. We looked around the room to see if it was clean and it wasn't. The floor was dirty with bugs, screws, and pieces from the wall. We turned on the air unit and dust was flying everywhere. We looked at the top of the unit and it was full of dust. We opened the fridge and there was mold along the lining and the inside was dirty. We went into the bathroom and there was hair on the toilet seat. We then pulled back the blankets on the bed to see how clean the bedding was. It was dirty with sweat rings all over the pillows. This was NOT how we wanted to spend our night especially since we were leaving the next morning on a trip to get married. We grabbed our things and went to the front desk and explained how dirty the room was. We didn't want an upgrade because the room wasn't what we expected and thought a different hotel would be better. The desk clerk said that she would go to our room to see what we were talking about. She explained to us that since we pulled back the sheets and took them off then we were not going to get our money back. She never even asked us if we wanted to get a different room even though we were planning on leaving. We called the manager and she said since we verbally attacked her employee then we couldn't have our money back. We NEVER verbally attacked the girl. We only explained how dirty and unhappy we were with the room. The manager yelled at my fiance over the phone and said the conversation was being recorded and she would deal with a lawyer. (Just like previous bad reviews on here). She would only give us a free credit, but we wanted our money back since we would never stay here again. She still wouldn't give us our money back. To anyone needing a place to stay near the airport. PLEASE go to Embassy Suites. This is where we went after this bad experience. It is $30 extra, however you get free drinks for two hours and a beautiful clean room. They also have a pool area with wonderful customer service and breakfast. This is where we plan on staying from now on.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Holly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at this property on Aug 17 and 18, 2012 to visit the Henrty Ford Museum and Greenfield Village. When we arrived there was no one at reception because the receptionist had to go and retrieve one of the luggage carts from within the hotel. However, when she returned she was very helpful and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable although it was directly over the hotel's restaurant patio. With the window open arounf 11:00 pm it became a bit noisy from the talking of some restaurant patrons. This might be a problem for a light sleeper. On the morning of Aug 18th we went to the restaurant for the complimentary breakfast but there were no plates or bowls and it seemed like no one was in attendance. We had considered inquiring about this at the front desk but the two attendants were busy and it appeared somewhat agitated in trying to sort out problems with other guests. We decided to go elsewhere for breakfast for both mornings. When we booked out it was simple and straight forward. So overall this property was less enjoyable than we expected from some reviews but not as bad as it could have been.

Room Tip: If you are aq light sleeper and like to have the window open ask to not be in a room near or above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Days Inn before and after our trip to Aruba this past June. The Park & Fly option was great. Made getting to our 6am flight much easier and less tiring. The room was great, clean and comfortable. In addition it was quiet even though it was close to the Detroit airport. We plan to use the Park & Fly service of this hotel every year when we fly out of Detroit for vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to park and fly. They really have that down. Room was fine. Had a fridge and a microwave which was nice.
This is a budget hotel that delivers what it promised. There are a lot of rules about the car that were OK for us.
You cannot show up early for your car without a fee if you don't call. Not customer-centric at all but the price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 9501 Middlebelt Road, Romulus, MI 48174-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among Detroit Metro Airport Hotels, the Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport is proudly listed on AAA’s 3 Diamond rated hotels. Great for business travel, leisure, or family vacations. Conveniently located close to the airport and many of Detroit’s main attractions including Greektown, MGM, Motor City Casino, Greenfield Village, and much more. We offer a business center, workout facility, free 24hr airport shuttle, complimentary continental breakfast and many more amenities located on 3 stories with all indoor corridors. Also try our on-site restaurant Wing’s Bar and Grill newly remodeled with large Flat Screen HDTVs and a full menu to choose from. Ask about our Park and Fly packages which include, one night stay and extended parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
Days Inn And Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Days Inn Romulus
Romulus Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing