We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmn”
Review of Wheat & Rye

Wheat & Rye
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Romulus
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Portland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmn”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've only tried the Ruben burger so far. I'm going back for more!!! Sports bar atmosphere feels like the local bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bedbug1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    78
    21
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“HUGE Portions”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I ordered a mixed drink and a deli sandwich for dinner along with some fries...the drink was in a large cup and the sandwich is something you would see on man vs food. It is huge and I am the type of person who can finish everything I order....not this time. I was only able to eat 1/2 the sandwich as it was just too big. If you go here, you may want to split a sandwich...trust me you will not be able to eat all of it yourself. The inside is more like a bar and grill but it is a clean place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Monstrous portions!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place never ceases to amaze me, fresh corned beef, pastrami, and more. For $6.95 you can get a sandwich thats as big as your head! No joke! Near Detroit airport, it looks like a dive bar some of the best food we've ever eaten, hamburgers are fresh handmade patties and delicious, but if you like corned beef, pastrami, etc. then this place is a must go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Corky32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“what's the fuss?”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We kept hearing how great this place is so we finally decided to try it ourselves. What a disappointment. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I was expecting. It is more or less just a neighborhood bar with big giant sandwiches. The sandwich was really too big, fell apart while I was eating it. The service was not that great either. We would rather go to the Merriman Street Grill down the street. Way better food and service. They also keep the temperature very low in there and it was freezing, I kept my jacket on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Arbor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and Burgers”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a must stop if your in the area of Romulus, Michigan It's not an attractive place and it's more of a bar setting than a restaurant, but I have to stop whenever I'm in the area. The Sandwiches are not only the biggest I've had, but they are made with nothing but the best ingredients. They also have several excellent Burgers. The service is always good and they automatically know you will need a "to go" container for you leftovers. Great place to go if your hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Resseguie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheat & Rye also viewed

 

Been to Wheat & Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing