We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, but...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was there for one night on Nov. 3, 2012. Very nice room. Everything was clean and new; spacious bath & shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. Coffee and breakfast start early which I always appreciate. Negative would be the all night flashing white light from the smoke detector on the ceiling.

Room Tip: Automatic door locks are loud, so if possible pick a less full corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    143
    37
    14
    17
See reviews for
137
126
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites numerous times throughout the years. I have always had a Great experience with the rooms & staff. I checked in late (midnight) was greeted politely by the staff. Checked into the room and it was clean and bed was comfortable. Took advantage of the Room + Parking deal.

My only complaint is that the bed skirts on both beds needed to be washed. They weren't necessarily dirty, but dusty, and was not of the Marriott standard that I expect.

Room Tip: If you are flying out of the Detroit Metro Airport. Take a look at the Room + Parking Deal with Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V3RSPE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was here for one night on Oct. 19, 2012. Arrived very late and I was not attentive to the location of the room I received. I was next to the mechanical room for the swimming pool. The sound of the pool pump was very loud and I could not sleep. I booked the hotel via the Marriott web site and I stay at Marriott branded hotels a lot. My room was one of those rooms that you often get when booking via a low-cost 3rd party site. You know, next to the elevator, the ice machine and such. I paid full price – ended up with a terrible room. There are at least 20 hotels at the Detroit airport. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay near or on the floor above the indoor swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_StonyBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during the World Series. The location was very convenient from the airport and I utilized the shuttle. They share shuttle services with the qwik park location next door, which is a positive as you never have to wait more than 5 minutes for a shuttle at the airport.
Pick-ups going back to the airport are only every 30 minutes on the half hour.
The breakfast was typical continental breakfast fare (toast, yogurt, waffles, muffins, etc) and was very well presented.
The rooms themselves were clean. The beds were VERY comfortable. Everything worked as it should. The bathroom showers were quite large and modern. The housekeeping did an extraordinarily good job and actually spent time on each room, even for stay-over guests. I did not hear a great deal of plane noise as is customary at airport hotels. All in all a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
219 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

you know what to expect of Fairfield's and this hotel, being firly new, did fall into those expectations.
rooms (they call a "suite" the one they gave me) are spacious and there is wonderful, huge, shower with a showerhead that works well for ones.
internet is a bit slow to present the login page but after that it works fine
2 things I did not like for breakfast : first of all there are far less tables than needed (I could not find a place to sit) and the cornflakes dispenser must have been purchased at a discount for 5 usd and in fact i had to just open it and take the flakes with a spoon
all in all, I liked it and I will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed for business. The hotel is fairly typical for a Fairfield. The location is close to the airport. There are a few places to eat close including a decent itialian restaurant.

The service was average. The room was average for a Fairfield. The breakfast was a little below the normal Fairfield standards.

I had a problem with the heat not working in my room. They were not able to fix it and never gave me an update. I also had a key stat stopped working. I don't know why that happens, but it is certainly an annoyance when it happens. And since this problem happens everywhere, I am not blaming the staff or the hotel.

The internet was wireless and fairly strong. There was also an ehternet cable in the room that I did not use. Every 24 hours you are forced to complete an agreement for another 24 hours of access.

The remote also stopped working during my stay. I went to the front desk and was told that I "was in luck" since they had a spare. Lucky me.

They did have a business "center" in the front lobby that looked better than most Fairfields.

Overall, I would not stay here again. The lack of heat is a dealbreaker for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle,Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this location night prior to flight, this included an 8 night parking stay . The parking facility was located right next to the hotel, very convenient. The hotel was nice, room current and very clean , breakfast was good and perfect for a quick bite prior to flight. No restaurant on location for drinks or dinner, but within short driving distance. Choose to drive car in the morning to the airport parking next door and used the shuttle from this location,shuttle was waiting ,perfect, great value for money would stay again

Room Tip: Our room at back of hotel ,was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmp124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 26 in Romulus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Address: 7800 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#6 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
Fairfield Inn And Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Fairfield Inn Romulus
Fairfield Romulus
Romulus Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing