We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool, what pool??????????” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Metro Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Metro Airport
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pool, what pool??????????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

What a joke!
We purposely booked a room with a pool so our children (ages 2 and 12) could swim the night before we were flying out.
We got to the hotel and checked in.
We drove around to where our room was and were pleased to see we were close to the pool.
My 12 year old walked over to the pool and there was NO WATER IN IT!
Thank goodness my husband had seen a sign that said that there were no refunds after 15 minutes.
I quickly went into the office and demanded a refund. I asked him where the water in the pool was and that I now had 2 disappointed children in the car.
I told him that it was false advertising saying that their location had a pool when in fact it didn't.
We went across the street and stayed at the Clarion. It was beautiful and had a wonderful HUGE pool that had water in it.
I would NEVER recommend this location to anyone and I think that it is a disgrace that it is affiliated with the other hotels!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank tomato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmetroairpo, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to attempt to stay at Rodeway Inn Romulus for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• We spoke with management and maintenance concerning the pool and questioned why it was not in use. Maintenance was instructed to see to it that the pool was put in proper, usable condition.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to attempt to stay at Rodeway Inn Romulus. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    9
    2
    33
See reviews for
12
6
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

I called from the DTW airport for the free shuttle but after a 1 hour wait called again to find no driver available. DTW has a $13 base "cab" fare so the 1.5 mile trip was more than expected.The room had a musty, water damage smell that was coming from the bathroom.The air conditioner also had a musty smell.The window is a full piece so no venting is available. My opinion is you'd be better off paying for higher quality in the same area. I must say that the shuttle did get me to airport next morning without problem or delay.Staff courteous.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank elkabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmetroairpo, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Romulus for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance and housekeeping staffs were instructed to look into the matter of the smells in the room assigned to you and to see to their elimination.

2) Management was approached about the possibility of replacing the windows that can’t be opened with a different type that can be vented.

I hope that the next time you visit our area you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn Romulus. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2006

I flew into Detroit from the West Coast and was ready to sleep; I was glad I had pre-booked this room . . . until I got there. The first thing I noticed when I opened the door was the disinfectant smell. But I was so exhausted I decided to try to sleep anyway. After getting into bed (which, to their credit, was somewhat comfortable) I noticed the very strong bleach smell to their sheets - this was in addition to the general disinfectant smell the room had. In the next hour (1 to 2 a.m.), four cars drove by with their stereo's bass so loud you have no choice but listen to their music; the exterior walls did little to dampen the sound. The room's furnishings weren't bad, but overall the room looked like it had been renovated as inexpensively as possible (for example, a piece of plywood blocking the view of the under-sink pipes . . . no, I didn't look behind it). I packed up and went elsewhere to sleep.

In summary, this room would be best for folks whose sense of smell is very diminished and whose vision and hearing is not good. Save your money; invest it in a good hotel room elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmetroairpo, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Romulus for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping and maintenance staffs were approached concerning the smells in the room assigned to your use. They were instructed to see to the elimination of the odors.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn Romulus. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

Well folks, this place is a dive. The rooms smell bad, they are dirty and the bathroom was disgusting with a half dozen cigarette burns on the plastic tub where customers just left them to burn long lines. They have a porn channel that just pops up with no warning or anything as you surf the 5 or 6 channels they do have. There was noise in other rooms all night long - loud talk, TV blaring and doors banging. It is certainly not a place for an overnight stay prior to catching a flight out of Detroit Metro the next morning. Spend $10 more and stay in a decent place.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmetroairpo, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Romulus for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Housekeeping staff received additional instruction concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

2) Management was approached concerning the porno channel which you found popped up unexpectedly. It was suggested that the pop up feature be eliminated so that our valued guests have a choice as to whether they want to see any of it.

3) Management and desk staff received additional training concerning their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests honor their responsibility to be thoughtful of their fellow valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn Romulus. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2006

There is no iron in a room, the one I've got from the frontdesk, was broken and that was the only ONE iron. They DO NOT have an iron board as well.
When in the morning I reported to breakfast, a front desk girl with careless attitude said "I don't think we have it today". Suprise!!!!
Well, I will not recommend this motel to anyone. For 5 dollars more you can get a room in Ramada across the street , at least with guaranteed breakfast and a working iron in every room.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmetroairpo, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn Metro Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Romulus for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) The management was approached about the possibility of supplying the rooms with irons and ironing boards.

2) The breakfast and management staff were approached to find out if the breakfast was a regular daily practice or only on certain days.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn Romulus. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Metro Airport

Property: Rodeway Inn Metro Airport
Address: 8500 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Ownership, outdoor pool, clean rooms and wonderful friendly staff just waiting to help. Come Check us out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing