We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good value for an overnight stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Use the "jet and stay" option which was convenient as it is immediately behind the hotel. It would be a bit tricky to find it in the dark unless you are familar with the area. The room was fine, clean with a comfortable bed so we slept well.
The breakfast has a lot of choices, none of which really appealed to us, so it depends on your dietary requirements and expectations.
The night clerk was very busy as they were totally full so he was efficient. He explained very clearly that if you lose your parking voucher for your week's free parking, it is your problem and they can't do anything to help you. Good information and difficult to delivery, I am sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroleerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Caroleerik,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our efficient staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    22
    3
    7
See reviews for
33
43
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden(outside Toronto)
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed briefly overnight before catching a flight.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
Lobby was very clean, did not get a chance to see the amenities.
Only complaint would be no tea bags offered in room with coffee maker and lobby only have coffee urns out as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtpiede19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear qtpiede19,

Thank your for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do have tea in a variety of flavors as well as decaf and regular coffee both in room and in the breakfast area 24 hrs. We do apologize you were unable to take advantage of our complimentary tea. If brought to our attention we are more than happy to provide you with any of our amenities if you do not find them to be available for any reason. We hope to be able to accommodate you during your next stay in the Romulus Detroit Metro Airport area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine City, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms were very nicely redone, the staff was very helpful, and they allowed our cat to stay for free. It is very convenient location, and there are restaurants next door within walking as well as Wheat & Rye right down the road. The only negative was breakfast, we have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn's as well as other chains, have never been to a free breakfast with no meat, sausage or bacon, normally the bacon tray is overflowing at other stays. This is not a huge issue, but I don't understand, the staff member waiting on this area said something like I made it once, that is all I make? The 3rd morning we just went to Big Boy down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear stewystang,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel, helpful staff, pet friendly rooms and our location to plenty of great restaurant choices! We are sorry to hear that you encountered any discrepancies while staying at our hotel. We are always required to have one egg and one meat out during our breakfast hours of 5:30 AM through 9:30 AM. We do not just make breakfast once and expect it to last the entire four hour period. We will definitely speak with my breakfast staff to ensure that they are aware of our requirement/policy regulations. Our breakfast hours last the full four hours and should be fully stocked during those four hours of breakfast at all times. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused for you and your party, our hotel offers a free hot breakfast, you should not have to go pay for your own breakfast down the street. One again we do apologize and hope to have the pleasure of providing you with the excellent service that every guest deserves!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I travel quite a bit, and I don't like to leave a charge card on file for amenities that I know I'm not going to use. These hotels sometimes take days to refund your money. I have NEVER had a problem with any hotel over this, until I got to this one. Front desk would not allow me to check in for a room that was already paid for. Needless to say, I will not be staying at another Holiday Inn. Hotel was ok, but cold, and generic, much like the attitude of the front desk clerk. I stayed at the Clarion across the street the night before and was treated much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrooks191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear JBrooks191,

We are very sorry you experienced any inconveniences due to the IHG Hotel Brand credit card policy. We at the Holiday Inn Express have the same requirement of a credit card upon check-in as the Holiday Inn, which I believe is the hotel you are referring to as we are not across from the other hotel mentioned. Unfortunately, whether or not a reservation is prepaid, the IHG hotel brand does require a credit card at check in. A credit card is authorized for a specific amount which depends on the property for incidentals including movie purchases, long distance calls or damages during your stay. Upon check out, nothing is charged if there are no charges and the authorization is released within a few business days depending on your bank or credit card company. If you have any concerns or questions regarding this policy, any of our hotels would be more than happy to assist you. I hope that when you visit our area again you choose to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
297 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

From check-in to check-out this hotel was wonderful. Upscale, modern lobby; 3 computers and a printer in their business center. I asked the lady at check-in if they had any shower caps because I had forgotten mine and she gave me one and "another one should I forget it again." Breakfast was the usual HIE fare; I love their cinnamon rolls. Our room was spotless and the mattress comfortable and linens top notch. There is also a good restaurant next door, Merriman Grille. We will definitely return to this hotel. We used our Priority Club Points so our room was free, but we were still given a top floor, Executive King with microwave and dorm size fridge. Excellent employees and great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear luvsf,

Thank you so much for taking time to complete our survey. We are so honored to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! From the minute you walk into our hotel till the time you leave, you are part of the Holiday Inn Express DTW family. We do have complimentary items ranging from razors and shaving cream, shower caps, toothbrush and toothpaste and hair combs. We aspire to make all guests feel at home with a microwave and refridgerator in all of our rooms, up to date lobby, business center for guest use, top notch linens as well as our great location for excellent dinner choices. We can not wait to have the opportunity to service you in the future and we are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, making our guests happy makes us happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers a parking package for travelers. We were away for a week so the 8 days of included parking worked out very well. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Merriman Grill for dinner. It is good and not expensive. It is right next door to the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lwyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Iwyden,

We are so glad to hear our park and fly package worked out wonderfully for you. We aim to make traveling as stress free as possible! We are glad to hear you got to enjoy some of our amenities as well as our location to some excellent meal choices for all of our guests. We would love to have the opportunity of seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very clean hotel. The staff was very friendly. Infact when I requested a bottle of water, they told me they charged for it. When I mentioned this is the first Holiday Inn that charge me, they told me not to worry about it.

It is close to the Airport and the shuttle runs like clockwork. They even have a breakfast at 5:30 am, ( I wish it was a little earlier, for those of us who fly out first thing). Outside of that, I had a good stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear David S.,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking your time to complete a review based on our hotel. Our shuttle service is 24 hours 7 days a week, from the airport and back. We aim to make traveling as smooth as possible! We take every suggestion into consideration and would love to be able to provide our early morning guests with a quick, grab and go breakfast! Hopefully we can provide an earlier breakfast on your next stay with us amd look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
Address: 7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1911 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business, leisure or a family fun filled vacation, here at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport we have got what you're looking for! Our amenities include free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, hot Express Start Breakfast, fitness center, business center, guest laundry and a sundry shop where you can refresh with snacks and beverages! Guest rooms are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's perfect for lounging around and relaxing, microwaves and mini refrigerators along with Bath and Body Works shower essentials. If you are looking to hold a small meeting/gathering we offer a 10 person max board room for rent based on availability. Due to our close proximity to DTW we offer a wonderful park stay and go package for our traveling guests! Our package includes your one night stay at the hotel along with 8 days free parking in Qwik Park;which is located directly behind our hotel. We provide a 24/7 service shuttle to and from the airport which is operated by Qwik Park. Shuttle pick up and drop at DTW is located at ground transportation level approximately every 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
La Quinta Romulus
Romulus La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing