We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Surprisingly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Romulus
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A recent layover in Detroit turned into an overnight after my onward flight was canceled. The airline offered a service that provided a discount booking at the Best Western near to the airport. The discount made it reasonably priced. The hotel offered a shuttle that picked me up (and later dropped me off) at the airport.

Check-in was smooth. The room was clean, surprisingly so (which was a relief). The rooms face a large covered lobby area that includes a pool, gym and restaurant. My room was directly across from the pool, so it had quite a bit of noise from kids screaming in the early evening. But it stopped by 10 pm.

A continental breakfast was included in the price of the room. For a continental breakfast it was pretty substantial, including eggs and sausage.

If in a pinch and need to stay near to the Detroit hotel, this wouldn't be a bad place to lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    126
    157
    131
    132
See reviews for
209
129
63
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo. Oh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed at this Best Western several times before leaving on vacation thru Detroit Metro Airport. It is a great deal! The room rate for the night - which includes parking for the week is less than what you would pay to park your car in one of those part and ride lots for the week. We always have a very early flight and it is nice to go up the night before and not have the hour plus drive before flying. My room has always been clean and the customer service has always been top notch. It is not the Ritz, but when all you are looking for is a good nights sleep before a flight it is great. I will continue to use this hotel.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the pool and hot tub area as it can be quite noisy these in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beechisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in February of 2013 and will not be back. This hotel is old and on the verge of run down. My room was dirty and I couldn't wait to leave. The halls were being repainted and much of the hotel smelled of paint. The only pluses are its location near the airport and it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlp815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was looking for a decent hotel for a solo stay the night before my flight was to leave. From driving by other hotels and looking at a few, Best Western seemed a tad more comfortable. The room was off the pool area, and anyone making noise in that area echoes throughout the entire place, making it very annoying when you want to relax. There is a sliding door instead of a window facing this area, and when I got into the room, it wasn't closed tight. The curtains placed over this also don't completely block out the light either. The bed was comfortable but smelled like cologne, as if the bedding hadn't been completely washed from the previous guest. As others said too, the bathroom seemed tiny. I'm 5 feet tall, but the sink only went up to maybe my thighs. The water pressure was insanely loud. There were also gaps in the door.

I ordered food from the restaurant, and it was only okay. Nothing fancy. The shuttle to the airport was quick and convenient. I would possibly stay again if I had an early flight but probably not if I had a longer stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Advertised 100% non-smoking. Had to be moved from 1st room due to being VERY smoky. Extremely dated decor, tiny bathroom, noisy, breeze under door. Good valet parking service for DTW. Sad, older hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool are noisy because of constant foot traffic past the room, so choose something away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan, Usa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed at other Best western hotels. This particular one, located by the airport however, I cannot rave about it. Now, the room was very clean, staff was good, the meal we ordered from the restaurant, was excellent. The poolside room was terrible, there were teenagers and kids running up and down the halls all night, the hot tub had way too many people in it, spilling the water over. I was able to get in only once. My daughter could swim only once, the water she said was cold. We had went on a leisure trip, for valentines week, to swim and have fun. I was irritated the entire time, and kept us in our room. I checked out early at about 9:30 when we still had time, because i was so disappointed. Will not stay here again, unless it improved. I did notify this hotel about my disappointments, and they did listen and document it, and apologized.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 9191 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1904 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing