We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Airport HGI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you're looking for a cheap, clean and friendly place to sleep around a flight at the Detroit airport, this is a great bet. The value is excellent and it's exactly what you would expect from an HGI.

Room Tip: All rooms are effectively the same.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPodesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 674 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nice Spacious rooms with everything a business traveler expects and very close to the DTW. Inside and out is well maintained and well lit. They have a small but good buffet breakfast and the snack bar has lots of choices. The staff was great to deal with and the hotel is in very good condition.

The only negative with the hotel itself and its minor, is the elevators are slow but there are two of them so it isn't that bad of a wait.

The hotel is sometimes directly on the flight patch of DTW but they have done a nice job insulating the building because it isn't particularly loud and or a nuissance.

The restaurant selection is limited but there is a nice Italian place called Leonardo's diagionally across the street plus the hotel actually has dinner as well plus a little bar. Which is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

stayed there because of its close proximity to the airport and car rental center. the room was top notch. the bedding was clean. the bathroom was very clean. even the tv remote looked clean! the air conditioning worked quietly and efficiently. the food i got for breakfast: the omlet was cooked to perfection. the stuff on the breakfast bar was just ok, but the chef did a great job with the cooked to order items. the airport noise was minimal... you will hear some jet activity but it really isnt all that bad. the staff was professional in every regard. my only gripe is that the prices in the 24/7 store and the bar are a bit ridiculous... 5 bucks for a tiny bottle of wine... 2 bucks for a tiny deodorant... 7 bucks for a screwdriver.... you pay for the convenience i guess.

thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a great example of the quality Hilton Garden Inns are known for in business travel. This one is located very near DTW and adjacent to a Quik Park. The hotel offers a special with Quik Park, which makes it even more economical to stay there before flying out the next morning. The hotel room is standard, quiet, and well kept. Other than a McDonalds, Bob Evans, and a few other local restaurants in the area, there is not much choice for dinner. I recommend eating before you arrive, although the hotel does have a restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joefelice, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

SuzanneManhattan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport!

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Stay 'n Fly package is very popular for those flying out of DTW.

We look forward to you enjoying our Great American Grill for dinner during your next stay.

Yours in Hospitality,
Joseph Felice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We originally had reservations here for Fri. 9/23/11. Called & spoke with Ty at front desk on 9/19/11 to back them up to 9/22/11. Well, on Wed., 9/21/11--we called and spoke again with Ty and had them changed to that night! (HOW EMBARRASSING). I explained that it was raining in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and we were just going back to NC. I can't tell you how accomodating Ty was! Upon check-in we were very pleased with this property! Nice lobby area. Our king room was spacious with a nice club chair that didn't have you sitting 12 inches from the floor! AND a nice ottoman also. Excellent WiFi speed (best of our vacation). Microwave and sm. refrigerator and spacious, well lit bathroom. (Could have done without the hairs on the floor and the handle of the blow dryer!), but we would definitely stay here again when flying out early the next day! It is very close to the Rental Car Return also. Hotel offers b'fast and dinner and has a bar for those interested.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joefelice, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

OBXJewel,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to complete a review of your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport!

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by Ty at our front desk.

We understand that travel plans can change and I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs and changes.

We look forward to your return visit soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Joseph Felice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you are planning to stay near an airport, planes fly overhead... just the facts. I'm not a light sleeper, but heard the first planes come in at 5:30-6am and every five minutes afterward.

When I arrived in the room, there was no remote control for the television. I called down, asked for one. It took them awhile to bring it up. Other than that, the service was excellent. In fact, when I went down to follow up about the remote control, I was comped an item I was planning to buy from the convenience shop in the lobby for my inconvenience.

This was a business trip and the Internet connection was easy and fast. The cleanliness of the room was so-so for the price point. Room was modern and and had adequate furnishings. I remember the TV being a flat panel, nice TV.

There is no continental breakfast. It looks like a continental breakfast, but you have to pay for it a la carte, or you can have them cook you up a meal.

Would I stay there again? Probably not. I'd get a hotel further from the aiport, but then I did not have to stay near the airport. If I had to stay near the airport, I wouldn't necessarily avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Never have I stayed anywhere where everyone was so friendly and helpful. The staff just could not have been more accomodating. Despite the fact that we were literally next to the airport with giant planes arriving and departing, there was practically no jet noise in our room. Great beds, clean, reasonably priced, good breakfast. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.8 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 31800 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Romulus
#4 Business Hotel in Romulus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $113 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport hotel. Located in the city of Romulus, the hotel is just one mile from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) and easily accessible to downtown Detroit. The hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle service for your convenience. Enjoy easy access to Interstate 94 and I-275. Leading corporations near our Romulus hotel include Ford Motor Company, Coca-Cola and General Electric. Stay connected while travelling on the road with complimentary internet access throughout the hotel. Every guest room features a handy microwave and refrigerator. Enjoy complimentary facilities including a 24-hour business center, fitness center and swimming pool (our daily pool hours are from 8am-10pm). For delicious cuisine, the Garden Grille & Bar is open daily for breakfast and dinner. Our Detroit Airport hotel is a great choice for meetings and events. Select from 3,000 sq. ft. of function space to host a business meeting or social event with proximity to the DTW airport. Whether you are here for work, play or just to get away from it all, this Romulus hotel guarantees everything you need for a successful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Hilton Garden Inn Romulus
Romulus Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit
Detroit Metro Airport Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing