We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meager perks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meager perks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Looks to be new construction, with a convenient airport location. The room was a comfortable Standard King with microwave, mini refrigerator, flat screen TV, maybe 32"?, and a full shower. It seemed to have an "Express" brand feel to it, but maybe I've just been spoiled by the other IHG properties that actually reward Platinum members with something other than just a few bonus points. The temperatures were below freezing, and the friendly staff was very accomodating in helping you get around locally.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank UsingPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business as a valued member with us. We look forward to your future visit. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    80
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
45
38
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were stuck in Detroit cause our connecting flight was cancelled due to weather. We randomly picked this hotel. One of the best choices we have ever made. The good things started with the shuttles bus driver, his name began with an A. There were many people waiting on the bus in the freezing cold and he calmly asked everyone to squeeze together because he did not want to leave anyone out in the cold. I was starting to like Detroit. There was a long line of people waiting to check in and one of the front desk ladies actually stayed past the end of her shift to check us all in! I have never seen anything like it in a big metro airport hotel!!! Both these employees are a credit to the hotel and the management. The room was huge and comfortable. Bathroom was well stocked and clean. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hideyho53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We are exceptionally pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope the cold weather didn’t deter you from this area again. We have passed along your comment s and the staff sends their gratitude. Thank you for being such a valued guest. We hope to see you again in the future. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was one of the nicest Holiday Inns I have ever stayed in. I was expecting the worse being an "airport" hotel but the room was a great price, was HUGE (the room was a double on the 6th floor but it easily could have had 2 more beds in there), and the bathroom was extremely clean and big. We checked in at 1am after landing late and the hotel sent the shuttle for us. The only downside was no free breakfast. Otherwise, I was sad to leave to go to our true destination.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your awesome compliments. We are very happy you got the opportunity to stay with us and experience all of our amenities. We hope you come and see us again soon. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stranded inDetroit for 4 days because of the snow storm, and Delta face us a complimentary night at the Holiday Inn Metro. We decided to stay here for the next two nights after seeing the place.

The rooms are big and clean. Beds, pillow and linen were all very comfortable. There is a restaurant within the building, which was a big plus as it saved us the trouble of going out in the freezing weather. The shuttle to and from the airport is not as frequent as the other hotels, so the wait was much longer than what we would have wanted.

Food at the restaurant was okay, and service was good. Their business center allowed for free printing of tickets, which was very helpful. Internet access was free and pretty fast.

Would definitely stay here agan if we get stranded in Detroit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us given the circumstances. We hope you look us up if you find yourself in the Detroit area in the future. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your future visit. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel previously and will stay again. Our stay over New Years was fantastic - 10 of us shared 3 rooms and all of us enjoyed our stay. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Service from hotel staff was great, and we have no complaints at all.
We do, however, have complaints about the restaurant, the SportsNews Bar & Grill. We have eaten here before a few years ago when we stayed, and although the food was so-so, the service was fantastic. That was NOT our experience this time around. The food remained so-so, but the service was absolutely terrible. Our dining experience took over 3 hours, and considering it was New Years Eve, we were expecting a longer wait. However, our server was incredibly slow despite the restaurant not being very busy, and our bills were wrong - 3 TIMES! We sent them back and they kept coming back wrong, despite trying to correct them over and over. My husband, who never complains, mentioned our concerns to the manager who brushed him off. No apology, and the manager was a bit rude, which was rather surprising.
Definitely worth staying at this hotel, but if you go, avoid the restaurant. It's not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Percivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit yet again. We also look forward to your future visits and appreciate you being a loyal guest with us. We have passed along your comments and the staff sends their gratitude. We also want to extend our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced while dining. We also want to assure you that there is an action plan in place and corrective action has been taken to promise what you experienced will not be an issue in the future. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Holiday Inn after our return flight. The hotel was new and clean. The kids enjoyed the pool the next morning. The room was nice and clean. The only downside to the room was the lack of a bathtub, there was only a shower. As well, the Quinta shuttles are more convenient. At the Holiday Inn, you have to call for a shuttle and wait, whereas other hotel shuttles run constantly. As well, to go to the airport the shuttles run on half hours instead of constantly or every 15 min. We got the breakfast package and we enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our survey. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having a bath tub in your room as they are available upon request. We can add this request to your profile for your next visit when you call reservations. I also want to apologize if our shuttle times did not meet your needs. We are diligently working on ways to improve our property and your response will be taken into consideration. We hope to see you again soon and we appreciate your review. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

New, clean, convenient access to the airport and Detroit. The restaurant has a great selection and reasonable prices for an airport hotel. This will be our transition hotel when flying in/out of Detroit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINAG8400, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Becky

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant. We have so much to offer our guests and we hope you have the chance to take advantage of them all, we appreciate your business and we look forward to your future visit. Latina Green Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8400 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Romulus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#9 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing