We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Place if you're Flying...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Only Place if you're Flying...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've stayed here numerous times as we were catching flights out of Detroit Metro. Conveniently located across from the Park and Fly, it also has a nice in house restaurant and bar area as well as an inviting lobby area.

Rooms were clean and updated with good room for a family of four. Will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Be prepared for plane noise.... obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi JayRay61,

Thanks for sharing your great comments! We love hearing from frequent guests, and I’m happy to hear you've enjoyed your time with us. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    83
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
46
38
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before an early morning flight. Check out the park and fly option with Airlines Parking across the street, for about $30 for a week's parking. The all-glass showers are beautiful. Airport is very close, so there is some airplane noise. We had a great stay. Courteous, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manitoulin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. This was a new hotel with wonderful rooms and great breakfasts! Beds were comfortable and the staff professional. We will definitely plan to stay here again if on Detroit ... Also awesome sports bar!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello rzrbks76,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, and I will pass your comments on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was very surprised by how clean and pleasant the atmosphere was. Especially for the price!

I could not expect better for a business hotel right near the airport. The decorations are a very modern new age artistic look that meshes nicely with Detroit.

Room Tip: King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with a 2.5yr old and a 7mth old prior to our morning flight. We did the park, sleep and fly option and it was great!
Check in was a breeze and and I was happy to see when we got to our room the crib I had requested over the phone was waiting for us. The rooms were clean and very tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable and guests are provided with a hard and soft pillow option.
We found the pool great entertainment in the evening for our children. It was warm, clean and empty so we enjoyed it all to ourselves.
The parking is offsite through Airlines Parking. I parked the car in the evening once the kids were asleep. I was so impressed. The whole process took no more than 10minutes (from the minute I stepped out of my room). Efficiency is the name of the game here. Everyone knows exactly what they should be doing and there's no waiting around. The parking is directly across from the hotel, so convenient!
We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Kids eat free so that was a great advantage. Our dinner was delicious and an exceptional value at $25! Breakfast was ok and was also $25.
Overall I was so happy with our stay. I have never stayed in such a well appointed airport hotel (aside from staying at the club level in the Sheraton attached to Pearson airport - but they don't have a pool). I will 100% be using this hotel every time we fly out of DTW!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNewlywedsOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello Newlyweds,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I’m glad to hear everything was prepared for your visit and I’m happy that the Park and Fly package worked well for you. We’ll see you again soon and thanks again!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at this hotel. Upon arrival good customer service met us at the front desk. His name was Joey. He was polite, friendly, and knowledgeable. While we didn't eat at the restaurant it was nice to know it was there. Our room was a delight. The best part was no tub but a beautiful walk-in shower with nice shower head. We also had a microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker. The coffee was very good. I also liked the wrapped plastic drinkware. The decorum was also nice. The round table with two chairs made it very comfortable to have our meal. One more thing we were impressed with was the lighting for the room. As you enter the room there is a slot next to light switch that when you leave room key in the lights stay on and when you take key out the lights go off. Nice for conserving energy and keeping up your room key. So we left key in and turned lights off manually while in the room. Needless to say we enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandMolly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

No surprises here, standard HI quality, clean and comfortable. Restaurant food quality was a nice surprise, not exactly fine dining, but most adequate for a late dinner. Several computers available for boarding passes. Friendly and helpful staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello JS-VA!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel! I’m happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the restaurant. We look forward to your next visit!

Valerie
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8400 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Romulus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#9 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing