We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel near Detroit airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near Detroit airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed one night here on a trip to N Michigan. This was a great place, though it was good to have a GPS to find it. The room was quiet and very clean, and the staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast was very good, with waffles, eggs, scones, and potatoes in addition to the more usual sweet rolls, coffee and juice. All was in very good condition.

The Romulus area did not seem to have much in the way of amenities, but the Hampton Inn is located in a cluster of hotels, so one can choose from the offerings of these for dining. We ate at the Hilton next door, and found the food pretty good.

We will stay here again if we get the chance. It was a great room and breakfast at a very good price.

Room Tip: The king suite is a very large room with a great workdesk and other amenities for travelers (lapdesk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delawaredad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit-Airport/Romulus. I shared your comments with our staff to recognize them for taking great care of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your future trips to Detroit.
Warm Regards,
Lora Levendoski
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    186
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
236
153
56
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

As before we had a very good experience at this Hampton Inn & Suites. We stayed Saturday August 2nd and checked in at about 6:30. Check in was very efficient and we were welcomed back as returning guests. The room was very comfortable and clean and the king bed was comfortable as well. The planes do fly directly over this hotel, however if you run the a/c unit the white noise covers that nicely.We took advantage of the inclusive breakfast and was good except for the turkey sausage rounds floating in grease which looked rather unappealing.Cheak out was the usual method of having the bill slipped under the door. Good value ! Convenient location, and I am sure we will use this location again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksondj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit-Airport/Romulus. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your return trips to the Detroit area. Our greatest compliment is your promise of coming back to stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you as our guest.
Warm Regards,
Lora Levendoski
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
321 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were attending a convention at Ford Field last weekend and stayed at this hotel. It was wonderful!!! I really liked the location. Quiet area, but very close to lots of restaurants. In fact, the restaurant at the Hilton Garden Inn next door was fantastic! The rooms and hotel were very clean, including the pool/hot tub area and fitness area. The breakfasts were amazing!!! They serve so much! The western omelette was my favorite! But it's all really really good. The staff is friendly and helpful. And it's a very easy 20-25 min drive to the city. If I'm ever back in the area, I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were great and very friendly. The beds were amazing! I have stayed at other Hampton Hotels and I have to say that the comfortable beds, sheets, comforter and soft pillows just make my stay! The room was very clean. The bathroom was roomy. We had plenty of towels for the two of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 848catheriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

If you are staying near the Detroit Airport- this is the place to stay. The service at the front desk is the best I have ever experienced- even at fancier hotels. The staff are not just friendly, they are helpful and fill guest needs before they even ask.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMcNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

They are always so helpful. They really care about you being happy. Always meets and exceeds our expectations. This is our only choice for a hotel when we come visit the Henry Ford. Staff is 5 Stars. You will enjoy the breakfast, clean rooms, well maintained pool, hot tub and fitness area. Nice quite and close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hampton Inn was very clean, we always enjoy the breakfast and we were at the time attending a convention in Detroit and the breakfast staff was nice enough to open the breakfast bar 15 minutes early to accommodate the group so we were able to attend the convention on time. The rooms were very clean, we have never had a bad stay with Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bandit252a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing