We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the nicer HI's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“One of the nicer HI's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very nice lobby, clean well appointed room, and good management. Staff was working hard and late keeping common areas around front desk clean and mopping up all the snow and snow melt guests were tracking in. The rooms are fairly quiet considering the hotel is right under an approach path to DTW. Night desk clerk gave me a super dinner recommendation. I'd go back - no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hortkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    172
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
215
134
50
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chose this hotel as we've been consistently pleased with Hampton Inn properties. We had a very early flight to catch and wanted to stay near the airport. While planes were flying directly overhead, amazingly I did not hear any while in our room, although the heater did occasionally come on an off and likely might have drown them out to some degree. But we did not hear ANY, even though we were just below the top floor. Coffee/tea/cocoa bar available upon our late arrival was welcome on the frigid night we arrived. The room was 2 Queens and was nicely decorated with modern decor. Clean!! Beds were very comfortable and pillows were better than what I have at home! Duvet with cover and just a sheet on the bed, so you'll want to turn up the heat or grab a blanket out of the closet, which was not a problem. Grabbed "to-go" breakfast bags that are prepared and ready at the front desk and coffee, since we didn't have time for the breakfast bar. That was a real timesaver. Some restaurants nearby. The only downside is the location on Smith Rd, which was hard to find coming from the airport as it's accessible only after making a u-turn and you can't see the street sign going outbound on Merriman Rd. You can only look for the neon sign on the top of the building. Get directions beforehand (we didn't), although it's very easy to find once you know. Definitely better than any other airport hotel I've stayed at, and only minutes on a straight shot to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrimgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As soon i came to check in i was greeted by Roger on the reception. What a wonderful guy he made sure that my check in was a breeze and helped me alot in everything very nice guy. As soon as i checked in my room ohh what a nice spacious room very clean and top Hilton standards are there.

All i have to say is this is a wonderful hotel the only draw is the location but if you want a hotel near Detroit aiport than this is very excellent choice. If you have a car with you and you want to see Michigan than its also a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed one night before our flight. Excellent hotel, being Honour Members we received an upgrade to a King Suite , and it was wonderful. The hotel looks new fresh and clean. we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, it was very good. we would not hesitate to stay again. Brandon at the desk was very nice and helpful as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catcharay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family chose to stay here due to its proximity to the airport.
We didn't expect that our stay would be quite a wonderful experience.
Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the bed linens do smell clean, like fresh from the laundry.

Their complimentary breakfast is superb. It's the best I've seen compared to other hotels with complimentary breakfast. Lots of choices.

And most of all, we were very satisfied with their free airport shuttle service.

I would definitely choose Hampton Inn on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed Christmas eve, and the staff were wonderful. It looked like it was a slow night, so hard to say if the noise level (which was null) is typical. It was fairly clean. I am always really nervous about the cleanliness of the carpeting, but this place didn't fail to please me. There was a bit of smear on the bathroom door that you could only see in a certain light, but hardly anything to complain about. Excellent price for park and stay as well. Huge rooms and very close to airport a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was furnished nice, I liked the desk built into the wall for working. The white bedding was very nice, bed was good, tub/shower very clean and it smelled good. It set back off of hwy and within walking distance to restaurant off site. Close to airport, very easy trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guestwmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing