We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“As always - Hampton Inns rock!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As always - Hampton Inns rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We selected this Hampton Inn near the Detroit Airport (Romulus MI) as it is just off the airport grounds and close to the rental car returns. We just returned from trip across Michigan and back had an early flight out the next morning. What a terrific hotel and location. We usually stay at Hampton Inns and are rarely disappointed. This Hampton Inn exceeded all expectations. It was absolutely spotless, the rooms, eating, and lounging area were immaculate. The service was superior. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful in every possible way; the front desk attendant offered us an umbrella because it was raining. The ladies working the breakfast area in the morning were on top of everything and so pleasant. We were well looked after! The beds were very comfortable and the room had a microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator and free Internet. The morning breakfast was a traditional Hampton Inn breakfast, everything was stocked, hot foods were hot and fresh; the food display and eating area was clean and neat and provided a great start to our day. As far as the hotel location, the surroundings had everything to offer. Plenty of restaurants close by, Big Boy is across the street and Bob Evans is few blocks away, just down the street are fast food places and a very short drive to many excellent places to eat, groceries and shopping. It was seven miles to the nearest mall. Hotel and surrounding area is very safe, the parking lot is well lit and provides for a confident and comfortable stay. We will stay at this hotel again if we travel out of the Detroit Airport and we highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor, although next to the airport we did not hear any plane or road noise. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLFRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    185
    31
    11
    3
See reviews for
235
149
55
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with family before flying off to Florida. Very nice, very clean room with comfortable beds. The pool area was very nice with a hot tub as well. The only thing lacking is an onsite restaurant, but there are many close by.
Loved that the Qwik Park location was right next door and our room cost of &119.00 included 8 days of free parking. We only paid extra for 3 nights.
The shuttle service to the airport was perfect and the driver was very helpful with luggage, etc. even calling ahead to the airport to arrange a wheelchair for my mother.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iCRUISEify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Here on a quick business trip. No rooms anywhere in Ann Arbor where I was working but found an opening at this 2 year old Hampton Inn. Consistent with the Hampton brand overall this was a clean, quiet great looking hotel with a super friendly staff. Considering I was only in my room for
4 1/2 hrs of sleep and had to leave before breakfast was served, I would still stay here again when in the metro Detroit / Ann Arbor area.

Room Tip: Even though this hotel is within sight of the Detroit Metro Airport my room was very quiet and I got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameraGuy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Spotless clean, great front desk staff! Room service staff was great, food not so much. But it's perfect for a nights stay before you fly out of DTW.

We did the park and fly package, the system is well organized and easy to do.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room was small but the design and modern elegance made up for that completely! This beautiful new hotel does not have a restaurant. The breakfast is 'eh' trying to be more than continental. I like the newspaper at your door every morning, if only I had time to read it. I can't wait to go back the next time I'm in town for business. The bathrooms were clean, bright and modern too! Very NYC.

Room Tip: West side has beautiful sunsets you can enjoy from bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Needing a room in the metro Detroit area for a night we decided to do a recon visit for our next sleep-park-fly trip out of DTW. Having spent the night for a fair AAA rate of $80 I can see why this property holds the number 1 slot. Pool and weight rooms were very nice and the free continental breakfast was better than most. The king room design was a refreshing change as others have mentioned and it was very clean. A VERY large family reunion was taking place here while we visited so I wondered if late night noise would be an issue being many youthful family member were on our floor. I'm glad to report we never heard a thing. This location will definitely get consideration on our next flight out of DTW.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan54669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Romulus Hampton Inn on vacation again this year. Nothing has changed - it is still one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the room is always clean and in excellent condition. Definitely my first choice when staying in Metro Detroit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgfsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing